BPS Newsroom

Welcome to the BPS Newsroom, where media can tap into the latest news in the biophysics community.

Jeff Gelles to Receive 2019 BPS Kazuhiko Kinosita Award in Single-Molecule Biophysics

ROCKVILLE, MD – The Biophysical Society (BPS) has named Jeff Gelles, Aron and Imre Tauber Professor, Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology, Brandeis University, its 2019 Kazuhiko Kinosita Award in Single-Molecule Biophysics winner. Gelles will be honored at the Society’s 63rd Annual Meeting at the Baltimore Convention Center on March 5, 2019, during the annual Awards Symposium.

Gelles will be recognized for his pioneering research that established new approaches in nanometer precision imaging and single-molecule biochemistry of DNA motors, RNA polymerase from binding through transcription initiation, transcription, and release, and recently the spliceosome, which has encouraged new (and new-to-single-molecules) investigators.

“This award honors the legacy of Professor Kazuhiko Kinosita. It seeks to advance cross-disciplinary research, characteristic of Kinosita’s work, and aims to cultivate an appreciation of single-molecule studies,” said BPS President Angela Gronenborn, University of Pittsburgh. “Jeff has conducted single-molecule studies at the highest level and continues to spark interests in engaging others in single-molecule studies.”

The Kazuhiko Kinosita Award in Single-Molecule Biophysics recognizes outstanding researchers for their exceptional contributions in advancing the field of single-molecule biophysics. This award honors the life and work of Professor Kazuhiko Kinosita, Jr., who helped to establish the field. The award is intended to encourage investigators, to promote further developments in single-molecule biophysics, to advance the type of cross-disciplinary research that is characteristic of this field, and to elevate an appreciation of single-molecule studies among scientists in general.

Previous Article Harry Noller to Receive 2019 BPS Ignacio Tinoco Award
Next Article Yves De Koninck to Receive 2019 BPS Emily Gray Award