BPS Newsroom

Welcome to the BPS Newsroom, where media can tap into the latest news in the biophysics community.

Harry Noller to Receive 2019 BPS Ignacio Tinoco Award

ROCKVILLE, MD – The Biophysical Society (BPS) has named Harry Noller, Robert L. Sinsheimer Professor of Molecular Biology, Department of Molecular, Cell and Development Biology, University of California, Santa Cruz, its 2019 Ignacio Tinoco Award winner. Noller will be honored at the Society’s 63rd Annual Meeting at the Baltimore Convention Center on March 5, 2019, during the annual Awards Symposium.

Noller will be recognized for his groundbreaking studies of the structure, dynamics, and function of the ribosome and his outstanding mentorship and training of scores of undergraduate, graduate, and postdoctoral researchers.

“Nacho Tinoco challenged our community to continually push our fundamental understanding of biophysics,” said BPS President Angela Gronenborn, University of Pittsburgh. “He promoted an open, inclusive, and collaborative research environment in his field, positively impacting all of those who were around him. Harry has lived up to this shining example. We are very pleased that Harry is receiving this award for his commitment to fostering inclusive and collaborative research teams.”

The Ignacio "Nacho" Tinoco Award honors the scientific contributions, work, and life of an outstanding biophysical chemist, educator, and mentor. Tinoco’s contributions to the spectroscopic, thermodynamic, structural, and single-molecule study of biopolymers consistently deepened our understanding of fundamental biophysical principles, constantly moving this field toward new frontiers. Through his unconditional devotion to science, he established a highly cooperative, generous, inclusive, and friendly environment for scientific discovery and advancement. This award recognizes meritorious investigators who make fundamental and/or seminal contributions to the physical chemistry of biopolymers and/or who actively promote and sustain a collaborative, inclusive, and engaging research environment in the field.

Previous Article Enrico Gratton to Receive 2019 BPS Avanti Award in Lipids
Next Article Jeff Gelles to Receive 2019 BPS Kazuhiko Kinosita Award in Single-Molecule Biophysics