BPS Newsroom

Welcome to the BPS Newsroom, where media can tap into the latest news in the biophysics community.

Susan K. Buchanan to Receive 2024 Anatrace Membrane Protein Award

ROCKVILLE, MD – The Biophysical Society is pleased to announce that Susan K. Buchanan, PhD, of the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH), has been named the recipient of the Society’s 2024 Anatrace Membrane Protein Award. Buchanan will be honored at the Society’s 68th Annual Meeting, being held in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania from February 10-14, 2024.

Buchanan is being recognized for her impactful contributions to the understanding of outer membrane protein folding and insertion, and for structural insights into small and large molecule active transport across the outer membrane.

“It is an honor to recognize Susan’s pioneering work in membrane protein biochemistry and structural biology,” said BPS President Taekjip Ha of Harvard Medical School. “Through the years, Susan has developed a cohesive body of work shaping our understanding of how outer membrane proteins are folded and inserted into their native environment.  Her work represents not just basic science at its best, but also covers subjects with a high clinical relevance and pharmacological applicability.”

About the Award - Funded by Anatrace, Inc., this award recognizes an outstanding investigator who has made a significant contribution to the field of membrane protein research. The award is designed to promote membrane protein studies and recognize excellence in the field.


The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific society established to lead an innovative global community working at the interface of the physical and life sciences, across all levels of complexity, and to foster the dissemination of that knowledge. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through its Annual Meeting, publications, and outreach activities. Its 7,500 members are located throughout the world, where they teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories, government agencies, and industry.

Previous Article M. Thomas Record, Jr. to Receive the 2024 Ignacio Tinoco Award
Next Article Nancy Carrasco to Receive Biophysical Society’s 2024 Award for the Biophysics of Health and Disease

Documents to download