As the Biophysical Society continues to grow, the Society's Subgroups allow members to meet and interact within more focused areas in smaller groups. Subgroups hold scientific symposia and business meetings each year on the Saturday that starts the Annual Meeting. They also sponsor several awards, including the Student Research Achievement Awards (SRAA) Poster Competition.

Membership to the Society's Subgroups is open to all members. New Subgroups may be formed by petition, signed by at least 100 regular members. However, as of Spring Council on June 1, 2021, consideration of new petitions has been temporarily suspended pending the work of a Council Task Force on Subgroups.