As the Biophysical Society continues to grow, the Society's Subgroups allow members to meet and interact within more focused areas in smaller groups. Subgroups hold scientific symposia and business meetings each year on the Saturday that starts the Annual Meeting. They also sponsor several awards, including the Student Research Achievement Awards (SRAA) Poster Competition. Membership to the Society's Subgroups is open to all members.

BPS Council is excited to launch a new Subgroup Incubator Program for those interested in establishing a recurring meeting for an underserved research topic area or demographic. The incubator program is envisioned as a mechanism to explore new topic areas and determine whether there are opportunities within an existing Subgroup to foster an ad hoc group or see whether a new Subgroup may emerge. Ad hoc groups may run incubator events for two years to demonstrate continued, sustained interest in the topic before pursuing Subgroup status. Details about the incubator program are currently in development. Contact [email protected] with questions.

Physical Cell Biology

(formerly Cell Biophysics)

The Physical Cell Biology Subgroup (formerly Cell Biophysics) aims to bring biophysical studies into cells to probe structures, functions, dynamics, and interactions of macromolecules in their own physiological context. A living cell is a complex entity; the heterogeneous cellular environment is drastically different from the homogenous, well-mixed situation in vitro. Recent technical advances have made it possible to probe the inner working of cells with unprecedented resolution, sensitivity, and specificity; new experimental and computational studies have provided invaluable, quantitative understandings of cellular processes. The Subgroup will provide a much-needed platform for researchers to share scientific ideas, discuss research results, forge new collaborations, and together, to push the frontiers of knowledge in cell biophysics.

Join the Physical Cell Biology Subgroup


In order to join the Physical Cell Biology Subgroup, you must be a member of the Society.

Stefanie Redemann, Chair (2023-2024)

Shiladitya Banerjee, Chair-Elect (2023-2024)

Simone Reber, Secretary-Treasurer (2023-2025)

Jinghua Xing,  Program Chair (2024)

Jian Liu,  Program Chair-Elect (2025)




2023 Ulrike Endesfelder Bonn University
2022 Christine Payne Duke University
2021 Melike Lakadamyali University of Pennsylvania
2020 Julie Biteen University of Michigan
2019 Jie Xiao Johns Hopkins University

2023 Symposium

Saturday, February 18, 2023
San Diego, California

View Program

2022 Symposium

Saturday, February 19, 2022
San Francisco, California

View Program

2021 Symposium

Monday, February 22, 2021

View Program

2020 Symposium

Saturday, February 15, 2020
San Diego, California

View Program

2019 Symposium

Saturday, March 2, 2019
Baltimore, Maryland

View Program

2018 Symposium

Saturday, February 17, 2018
San Francisco, California

View Program

Year Winner Institution  
2023 Siyuan Wang  Yale University  

Year Winner Institution  
2023  Shikai Jin  Rice University  

Article I

Purpose: The purpose of the Physical Cell Biology Subgroup (formerly Cell Biophysics) shall be to bring biophysical studies into cells to probe structures, functions, dynamics, and interactions of macromolecules in their own physiological context.


Article II

Membership: Members of the Biophysical Society may join the Physical Cell Biology Subgroup; non-members of the Biophysical Society are welcome to attend Physical Cell Biology Subgroup symposia but are unable to join the Subgroup, serve as Officers of the Subgroup, or vote.


Article III

Dissolution: The Physical Cell Biology Subgroup must be in accordance with the Biophysical Society’s constitution and bylaws, mission, values, goals, and operational guidelines. If the subgroup is found in violation of their bylaws, the group will be placed on probation and may be dissolved at the discretion of the Council of the Biophysical Society.


Article IV

Meetings: Business meetings shall be held in connection with the annual scientific meeting of the Biophysical Society. Five percent of the members of the Physical Cell Biology Subgroup or 10 members, whichever is smaller, shall constitute a quorum. Scientific meetings shall be held in association with the annual Biophysical Society meetings, and must follow the guidelines established by the BPS Council.


Article V

Officers: The six Officers of the Subgroup shall be a subgroup Past-Chair, a subgroup Chair, a subgroup Chair-Elect, a Program Chair, a Program Chair-Elect, and a Secretary-Treasurer. All positions shall last for a period of one year, except the position of Secretary-Treasurer, which will last a period of two-years. A subgroup Chair-Elect and Program Chair-Elect will be elected every year; a Secretary-Treasurer will be elected every two years. The Subgroup Chair-Elect will become the next Subgroup Chair, and the Program Chair-Elect will become the next Program Chair. The subgroup Chair and Chair-Elect will run the business meeting and make sure bylaws are being followed. The Program Chair and Chair-Elect will be responsible for assembling the scientific program for the annual Subgroup symposium by selecting talks from submitted abstracts as well as actively inviting speakers, as well as for any social events during the meeting. The Secretary-Treasurer will make sure the books are balanced and the money is being spent according to the spirit of the Subgroup.


Article VI

Executive Committee: The Executive Committee will be responsible for fulfilling the scientific and business obligations of the group. The Executive Committee will consist of the six Officers. The Executive Committee shall have the power to conduct other business by means of electronic vote. The affairs of the Subgroup shall be handled by the Officers in accordance with the policies determined by the Executive Committee and the Biophysical Society Council.


Article VII

Nominating Committee: The members of the Executive Committee shall constitute the nominating committee. The Nominating Committee is responsible for soliciting nominations from subgroup membership and for preparing the final slate of candidates. Nominations will be received electronically up to one month prior to the annual meeting. Nominees must accept their nomination prior to being placed on a ballot.


Article VIII

Eligibility for Office: Only members of the Physical Cell Biology Subgroup may be candidates for offices. Members may not be elected to one office more than once every five years


Article IX

Elections: Elections shall be held electronically up to two weeks prior to the Subgroup’s business meeting. The candidate for each office receiving the highest number of votes will be elected. Officers will take office at the end of the annual business meeting held in conjunction with the annual meeting of the Biophysical Society. Interim vacancies in officers or councilors will be filled in accordance with Bylaw Article VII of the Biophysical Society.


Article X

Amendments to the Bylaws: Amendments should arise from the members of the Physical Cell Biology Subgroup, be approved by a two-thirds majority of the Subgroup Executive Committee, and be ratified in an electronic ballot by a majority of the members of the group voting.

The following word cloud is comprised of the speaker talk titles from our symposia.