As the Biophysical Society continues to grow, the Society's Subgroups allow members to meet and interact within more focused areas in smaller groups. Subgroups hold scientific symposia and business meetings each year on the Saturday that starts the Annual Meeting. They also sponsor several awards, including the Student Research Achievement Awards (SRAA) Poster Competition. Membership to the Society's Subgroups is open to all members.


The bioengineering subgroup is concerned with the application of engineering science to advance the analysis, manipulation, synthesis, and control of highly complex biological systems. Examples includes investigations related to epigenetic control of biological systems with fields, forces, flows and materials; principles of biodesign; rules governing emergent behaviors in self-organizing systems; modeling and modulating biochemical and biophysical processes, homeostasis, regenerative engineering, biomimetic devices, and adaptation.


Join the Bioengineering Subgroup

In order to join the Bioengineering Subgroup, you must be a member of the Society.

Seth Weinberg, Chair (2024-2025)

Kit Parker, Chair-Elect (2024-2025)

Mark Uline, Secretary-Treasurer (2024-2026)


2024 Mark Uline University of South Carolina
2023 Ravi Radhakrishnan University of Pennsylvania
2022 Michael Sacks University of Texas
2021 Samir Iqbal University of Texas, Arlington
2020 Raphael C. Lee University of Chicago Medicine
2019 Amir Farnoud Ohio University
2018 Jonathan Rocheleau University of Toronto, Canada
2017 Christopher Yip University of Toronto, Canada

2024 Symposium

Saturday, February 10, 2024
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania/p>

View Program

2023 Symposium

Saturday, February 18, 2023
San Diego, California

View Program

2022 Symposium

Saturday, February 19, 2022
San Francisco, California

View Program

2021 Symposium

Saturday, February 22, 2021

View Program

2020 Symposium

Saturday, February 15, 2020
San Diego, California

View Program

2019 Symposium

Saturday, March 2, 2019
Baltimore, Maryland

View Program

2018 Symposium

Saturday, February 17, 2018
San Francisco, California

View Program

2017 Symposium

Saturday, February 11, 2017
New Orleans, Louisiana

View Program

2016 Symposium

Saturday, February 27, 2016
Los Angeles, California

View Program

Bioengineering Subgroup Bylaws

Article I

Purpose: The purpose of the Bioengineering Subgroup is to provide a forum for discussion and dialogue about the application of engineering principles, approaches, tools, and techniques to biological problems. It will provide a unique venue for trainees and researchers working at the interface between the engineering and biological sciences, including those interested in the application of engineering strategies to resolve biological and human health related challenges.


Article II

Membership: Members of the Biophysical Society may join the Bioengineering Subgroup; nonmembers of the Biophysical Society are welcome to attend Bioengineering Subgroup activities but are unable to join the Subgroup, serve as Officers of the Subgroup, or vote.


Article III

Dissolution: The Bioengineering Subgroup must be in accordance with the Biophysical Society’s constitution and bylaws, mission, values, goals, and operational guidelines. If the subgroup is found in violation of their bylaws, the group will be placed on probation and may be dissolved at the discretion of the Council of the Biophysical Society.


Article IV

Meetings: Business meetings shall be held in connection with the annual scientific meeting of the Biophysical Society. Five percent of the members of the Bioengineering Subgroup or 10 members, whichever is smaller, shall constitute a quorum. Scientific meetings shall be held in association with the annual Biophysical Society meetings, and must follow the guidelines established by the BPS Council.


Article V

Officers: The Officers of the Subgroup will be a Chair, Chair-elect, and a Secretary-Treasurer.  The Chair-elect shall serve one year as such, followed by one year as Chair. The Secretary-Treasurer shall be elected for a term of two years.  A Program Chair shall be elected for a period of one year. The Officers plus the Program Chair will be responsible for assembling the scientific program for the annual Subgroup Meeting, which will involve both selecting talks from submitted abstracts as well as actively inviting speakers.


Article VI

Executive Committee: The Executive Committee will be responsible for the fulfillment of the scientific and business obligations of the group. The Executive Committee will consist of the Officers, the immediate past Chair, and the Program Chair. The Executive Committee shall have the power to conduct other business by means of electronic vote. The affairs of the Subgroup shall be handled by the Officers in accordance with the policies determined by the Executive Committee and the Biophysical Society Council.


Article VII

Nominating Committee: The members of the Executive Committee shall constitute the Nominating Committee. The Nominating Committee is responsible for soliciting nominations from subgroup membership and for preparing the final slate of candidates. Nominations will be received electronically up to one month prior to the Subgroup’s business meeting. Nominees must accept their nomination prior to being placed on a ballot.


Article VIII

Eligibility for Office:  Only members of the Bioengineering Subgroup may be candidates for offices. Members may not be elected to one office more than once every five years.


Article IX

Elections: Elections shall be held electronically up to two weeks prior to the Subgroup’s business meeting. The candidate for each office receiving the highest number of votes will be elected. Officers will take office at the end of the annual business meeting held in conjunction with the annual meeting of the Biophysical Society. Interim vacancies in officers or councilors will be filled in accordance with Bylaw Article VII of the Biophysical Society.


Article X

Amendments to the Bylaws: Amendments should arise from the members of the Bioengineering Subgroup, approved by a two-thirds majority of the Subgroup Executive Committee, and ratified in a ballot by a majority of the members of the group voting.

The following word cloud is comprised of the speaker talk titles from our symposia.