As the Biophysical Society continues to grow, the Society's Subgroups allow members to meet and interact within more focused areas in smaller groups. Subgroups hold scientific symposia and business meetings each year on the Saturday that starts the Annual Meeting. They also sponsor several awards, including the Student Research Achievement Awards (SRAA) Poster Competition. Membership to the Society's Subgroups is open to all members.

BPS Council is excited to launch a new Subgroup Incubator Program for those interested in establishing a recurring meeting for an underserved research topic area or demographic. The incubator program is envisioned as a mechanism to explore new topic areas and determine whether there are opportunities within an existing Subgroup to foster an ad hoc group or see whether a new Subgroup may emerge. Ad hoc groups may run incubator events for two years to demonstrate continued, sustained interest in the topic before pursuing Subgroup status. Details about the incubator program are currently in development. Contact [email protected] with questions.


The Cryo-EM subgroup was approved by the Society Council in 2015. Over 100 regular Society members signed the petition in support of the subgroup, which was spearheaded by Ed Egelman of the University of Virginia, Da-Neng Wang of New York University, Bridget Carragher of the New York Structural Biology Center, Yifan Cheng of University of California, San Francisco, Irina Serysheva of the University of Texas Medical School, and David Stokes of New York University. 

On Saturday, February 27, 2016, the Cryo-EM Subgroup held its inaugural meeting from 7:00-9:00PM at the Biophysical Society 60th Annual Meeting in Los Angeles, California. The following speakers were chosen from abstract submissions: Tamir Gonen (Janelia Farms, HHMI), Dganit Danino (Israel Inst. of Technology), Zhao Wang (Baylor College of Medicine), Doreen Matthies (NIH), Alexey Amunts (Stockholm University), Yuan Gao (University of California, San Francisco). Over 250 people attended the talks and, afterwards, elected officers and approved the bylaws governing operation of the subgroup.

Join the Cryo-EM Subgroup


In order to join the Cryo-EM Subgroup, you must be a member of the Society.

Oliver P. Clarke, Chair (2024-2025)

Elizabeth Kellogg, Chair-Elect (2024-2025)

Gongpu Zhao, Secretary-Treasurer (2023-2025)

Meghna Gupta, Program Co-Chair, Faculty (2025)

Pilar Cossio, Program Co-Chair, Faculty (2025)

Shi Feng, Program Co-Chair, Postdoc (2025)

2024 Michael Cianfrocco University of Michigan
2023 Ariane Briegel Leiden University
2022 Gira Bhabha New York University, Langone Health
2021 Charles (Chuck) Sindelar Yale University
2020 Elizabeth Villa University of California, San Diego
2019 Jenny Hinshaw NIH, NIDDK
2018 Tamir Gonen University of California, Los Angeles
2017 David Stokes New York University School of Medicine

2023 Symposium

Saturday, February 18, 2023
San Diego, California

View Program

2022 Symposium

Saturday, February 19, 2022
San Francisco, California

View Program

2021 Symposium

Monday, February 22, 2021

View Program

2020 Symposium

Saturday, February 15, 2020
San Diego, California

View Program

2019 Symposium

Saturday, March 2, 2019
Baltimore, Maryland

View Program

2018 Symposium

Saturday, February 17, 2018
San Francisco, California

View Program

2017 Symposium

Saturday, February 11, 2017
New Orleans, Louisiana

View Program

2016 Symposium

Saturday, February 27, 2016
Los Angeles, California

View Program

Article I

Purpose: The purpose of the Cryo-EM Subgroup shall be to advance and disseminate knowledge of cryo-electron microscopy, including techniques, methods and applications of Cryo-EM to biological problems.

Article II

Membership: Members of the Biophysical Society may join the Cryo-EM Subgroup; non-members of the Biophysical Society are welcome to attend Cryo-EM Subgroup activities but are unable to join the subgroup, serve as Officers of the Subgroup, or vote

Article III

Dissolution: The Cryo-EM Subgroup must be in accordance with the Biophysical Society’s constitution and bylaws, mission, values, goals, and operational guidelines. If the subgroup is found in violation of their bylaws, the group will be placed on probation and may be dissolved at the discretion of the Council of the Biophysical Society.

Article IV

Meetings: Business meetings shall be held in connection with the annual scientific meeting of the Biophysical Society. Five percent of the members of the Cryo-EM Subgroup or 10 members, whichever is smaller, shall constitute a quorum. Scientific meetings shall be held in association with the annual Biophysical Society meetings, and must follow the guidelines established by the BPS Council.

Article V

Officers: The Officers of the Subgroup will be a Chair, Chair-elect, Secretary-Treasurer, and a Program subcommittee, comprising two faculty and two postdoctoral fellows. The Chair-elect shall serve one year as such followed by one year as Chair. The Secretary-Treasurer shall be elected for a term of two years, and the Program subcommittee shall be elected for a period of one year. The Chair plus the Program subcommittee will be responsible for assembling the scientific program for the annual Subgroup Meeting, which will involve both selecting talks from submitted abstracts as well as actively inviting speakers. The Officers will meet once annually, in the month following the Subgroup meeting, to debrief and make plans for the upcoming meeting. This meeting will be organized by the Chair and may be conducted virtually.

Article VI

Executive Committee: The Executive Committee will be responsible for the fulfillment of the scientific and business obligations of the group. The Executive Committee will consist of the Officers and the immediate past Chair. The Executive Committee shall have the power to conduct other business by means of electronic vote. The affairs of the Subgroup shall be handled by the Officers in accordance with the policies determined by the Executive Committee and the Biophysical Society Council.

Article VII

Nominating Committee: The members of the Executive Committee shall constitute the Nominating Committee. The Nominating Committee is responsible for soliciting nominations from subgroup membership and for preparing the final slate of candidates. Nominations will be received electronically up to one month prior to the annual meeting. Nominees must accept their nomination prior to being placed on a ballot.

Article VIII

Eligibility for Office: Only members of the Cryo-EM Subgroup may be candidates for offices. Members may not be elected to one office more than once every five years.

Article IX

Elections: Elections shall be held electronically up to two weeks prior to the Subgroup’s business meeting. The candidate for each office receiving the highest number of votes will be elected. Officers will take office at the end of the annual business meeting held in conjunction with the annual meeting of the Biophysical Society. Interim vacancies in officers or councilors will be filled in accordance with Bylaw Article VII of the Biophysical Society.

Article X

Amendments to the Bylaws: Amendments should arise from the members of the Cryo-EM Subgroup, approved by a two-thirds majority of the Subgroup Executive Committee, and ratified in a ballot by a majority of the members of the group voting

The following word cloud is comprised of the speaker talk titles from our symposia.