BPS Newsroom

Welcome to the BPS Newsroom, where media can tap into the latest news in the biophysics community.

Yves De Koninck to Receive 2019 BPS Emily Gray Award

ROCKVILLE, MD – The Biophysical Society (BPS) has named Yves De Koninck, Professor, Psychiatry and Neuroscience, Laval University, Quebec City, Canada, its 2019 Emily M. Gray Award winner. De Koninck will be honored at the Society’s 63rd Annual Meeting at the Baltimore Convention Center on March 4, 2019, during the annual Awards and Lecture Presentation.

De Koninck will be recognized for his work in the development of internationally renowned, transdisciplinary training initiatives in neurophysics and neurophotonics that have provided hands-on training for numerous students and postdoctoral fellows.

“It is vital that our community celebrates scientists who significantly contribute their time, expertise and enthusiasm in classrooms across the world,” said BPS President Angela Gronenborn, University of Pittsburgh. “Yves is passionate about mentoring the next generation and his impact will be felt for years to come.”

The Emily M. Gray Award is given for significant contributions to education in biophysics, contributions that may include a distinguished record of excellence in classroom instruction, in mentoring research scientists at any level, in developing novel educational methods or materials, in promoting scientific outreach efforts to the public or to youth, in generating a track record of attracting new students to the field of biophysics, or in otherwise fostering an environment exceptionally conducive to education in biophysics. The award is given biennially. 

Previous Article Jeff Gelles to Receive 2019 BPS Kazuhiko Kinosita Award in Single-Molecule Biophysics
Next Article Meytal Landau to Receive 2019 BPS Margaret Dayhoff Award