Biophysics research has been at the heart of the research that was the basis for several Nobel Prizes over the past 60 years. In some cases, the work was entirely biophysics, in others, a biophysicist’s research in conjunction with scientists in other fields has resulted in truly wonderful breakthroughs. Biophysics research has been honored with Nobel Prizes for Chemistry, Physics, and Physiology or Medicine.

Nobel Laureates who won for biophysical research:

Sir J. Fraser Stoddart, Chemistry, 2016
Jean-Pierre Sauvage, Chemistry, 2016
Bernard L. Feringa, Chemistry, 2016
Eric Betzig, Chemistry, 2014
Stefan W. Hell, Chemistry 2014
William E. Moerner, Chemistry 2014 
Edvard I. Moser, Physiology or Medicine 2014 
James E. Rothman, Physiology or Medicine 2013
Thomas C. Südhof, Physiology or Medicine 2013 
Martin Karplus, Chemistry 2013 
Michael Levitt, Chemistry 2013 
Arieh Warshel, Chemistry 2013 
Brian K. Kobilka, Chemistry 2012
Dan Shechtman, Chemistry 2011 
Thomas A. Steitz, Chemistry 2009 
Ada E. Yonath, Chemistry 2009
Venkatraman Ramakrishnan, Chemistry 2009
Jack W. Szostak, Physiology or Medicine 2009 
Roger Y. Tsien, Chemistry 2008 
Roger D. Kornberg, Chemistry, 2006 
Roderick MacKinnon, Chemistry 2003 
Paul C. Lauterbur, Physiology or Medicine 2003
Robert Horvitz, Physiology or Medicine 2002 H. 
Kurt Wüthrich, Chemistry 2002 
Paul Greengard (PHD in biophysics), Physiology or Medicine 2000 
Paul D. Boyer, Chemistry 1997
John E. Walker, Chemistry 1997
Steven Chu, Physics 1997 
Martin Rodbell, Physiology or Medicine 1994 
Michael Smith, Chemistry 1993 
Richard R. Ernst, Chemistry 1991 
Erwin Neher, Physiology or Medicine 1991 
Aaron Klug, Chemistry 1982 
Walter Gilbert, Chemistry 1980
Frederick Sanger, Chemistry 1980 and 1958
Gerald M. Edelman, Physiology or Medicine 1972 
Rodney R. Porter, Physiology or Medicine 1972 
Christian B. Anfinsen, Chemistry 1972
Stanford Moore, Chemistry 1972
William H. Stein, Chemistry 1972
Robert W. Holley, Physiology or Medicine 1968 
Har Gobind Khorana, Physiology or Medicine 1968 
Marshall W. Nirenberg, Physiology or Medicine 1968
Dorothy Crowfoot Hodgkin, Chemistry 1964 
Max Ferdinand Perutz, Chemistry 1962 
John Cowdery Kendrew, Chemistry 1962