International Affairs

 BPS Sponsors Student Awards at EBSA

The Biophysical Society participated in the 9th European Biophysical Societies Association (EBSA) Conference, held in Lisbon, Portugal, July 13–17, by sponsoring a poster competition open to all students. This was the third EBSA meeting where the Biophysical Society held this competition, and a record 354 students participated this year.

The Society is indebted to the work of the judging committee: Yves Engelborghs (Chair), Felix Goñi, Nuno Santos, Helmut Grubmüller, László Mátyus, Catherine Royer, Ilpo Vattulainen, and Anthony Watts. Not only was this the largest-ever number of participants in the competition, but, as one of the judges noted, they also faced “an impressive level of science these competitors presented.” This made the final selection process very challenging.

Twelve winners, listed below, were selected to receive a $500 travel award and a complimentary membership to the Biophysical Society.