Distinguished Service Award

 2013 Distinguished Service Awardee:
Klaus Schulten
University of Illinois, Urbana Champaign


Past Awardees:
2012: Edward Egelman
2011: Olaf Andersen
2010: Mordecai P. Blaustein
2009: Jeremy M. Berg
2008: Robert Callender
2007: Ken Dill
2006: Robert Gunn
2005: Sarah Hitchcock-DeGregori
2004: Mary Dicky Barkley
2003: Marvin Cassman
2002: Peter Moore
2001: Frederic M. Richards
2000: Helen Berman
1999: Stephen H. White
1998: Victor A. Bloomfield
1997: Thomas D. Pollard

Established in 1991.

Deadline for nominations: May 1 of each year.
The Distinguished Service Award, established by the Biophysical Society, honors service in the field of biophysics and contributions beyond achievements in research. The recipient receives an honorarium of $1,000.


  • Nominee must have made an exceptional contribution to the field of biophysics and in its advancement outside of research.
  • Nominee must be a member of the Society in good standing.
  • Nominator must submit completed Nomination Form and required documents.

Nominations packets must include the following:

  1. Completed Award Nomination Form
  2. Letter describing qualifications of the nominee
  3. Two supporting letters
  4. Nominee’s curriculum vitae

Fill out nomination form and submit required materials in PDF format here.