BPS Newsroom

Welcome to the BPS Newsroom, where media can tap into the latest news in the biophysics community.

Jin Zhang to Receive 2023 Carolyn Cohen Innovation Award

ROCKVILLE, MD – The Biophysical Society is pleased to announce that Jin Zhang, PhD, of the University of California, San Diego, will receive the 2023 Carolyn Cohen Innovation Award. Zhang will be honored at the Society’s 67th Annual Meeting in San Diego, California, February 18-22, 2023.

Zhang is recognized for her pioneering work in elucidating spatiotemporal regulation of signaling molecules in their native biological context, the living cell. Through her use of exceptionally creative chemistry and biophysics, Zhang has almost single-handedly pioneered a new era of understanding cell signaling in living cells.

“Dr. Zhang is an innovative scientist advancing important new ideas and methods in the field of biophysics,” said BPS President Gail Robertson, University of Wisconsin-Madison. “Her discovery of a new non-canonical mechanism for cAMP compartmentation not only resolves a long-standing mystery in the field but also breaks new ground in signaling research where she will continue making long-lasting impact. The technological and conceptual impact of her work has been truly remarkable and on a steep trajectory.”

About the Award - The Carolyn Cohen Innovation Award recognizes a BPS member who advances our fundamental understanding of biological systems through the development of novel theory, models, concepts, techniques, or applications. 

Previous Article Jeanne C. Stachowiak to Receive 2023 Michael and Kate Bárány Award for Young Investigators
Next Article Elizabeth H. Kellogg to Receive the 2023 Margaret Oakley Dayhoff Award

Documents to download