BPS Newsroom

Welcome to the BPS Newsroom, where media can tap into the latest news in the biophysics community.

Elizabeth H. Kellogg to Receive the 2023 Margaret Oakley Dayhoff Award

ROCKVILLE, MD – The Biophysical Society is pleased to announce that Elizabeth H. Kellogg, PhD, of Cornell University MBG, will receive the 2023 Margaret Oakley Dayhoff Award. Kellogg will be honored at the Society’s 67th Annual Meeting in San Diego, California, February 18-22, 2023.

Kellogg is recognized for her important contributions to the mechanistic understanding of challenging and complex biological systems, including the neuronal microtubule interactor tau and a variety of DNA transposition systems.

“It takes a significant individual and researcher to be selected for an award honoring the achievements of a pioneering woman biophysicist such as Margaret Oakley Dayhoff,” said BPS President Gail Robertson, University of Wisconsin-Madison. “Dr. Kellogg is precisely such an individual,  renowned for her expertise in structural biology. We are proud to recognize her exceptional research and leadership, and to add her name to the list of celebrated women in biophysics.”

About the Award – The Margaret Oakley Dayhoff Award is given to a woman who holds very high promise or has achieved prominence while developing the early stages of a career in biophysical research, within the purview and interest of the Biophysical Society. The award honors the memory of Dr. Margaret Dayhoff, former President of the Biophysical Society, Professor of Biophysics at Georgetown University, and Director of Research at the National Biomedical Research Foundation.

Previous Article Jin Zhang to Receive 2023 Carolyn Cohen Innovation Award
Next Article José Nelson Onuchic to Receive Biophysical Society’s 2023 Founders Award

Documents to download