BPS Newsroom

Welcome to the BPS Newsroom, where media can tap into the latest news in the biophysics community.

Frances Separovic to Receive 2024 Rosalba Kampman Distinguished Service Award

ROCKVILLE, MD – The Biophysical Society is pleased to announce that Frances Separovic, PhD, of the University of Melbourne, has been named the recipient of the Society’s 2024 Rosalba Kampman Distinguished Service Award. Separovic will be honored at the Society’s 68th Annual Meeting, being held in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania from February 10-14, 2024.

Separovic is being recognized for her inspiring service to the Biophysical Society, her ambassadorship of biophysics internationally, and for working vigorously throughout her career to encourage greater participation of women at all levels in science and engineering.

“Members of the Biophysical Society strive to advance biophysics as a field and demonstrate the value it brings to the world at large, not just engaging in scientific research,” said BPS President Taekjip Ha of Harvard Medical School. “Frances has not only committed herself to scientific endeavor, but to the scientific community through service. We are honored to recognize someone who gives so much of themselves not only to science, but to the community of scientists.”

About the Award – The Rosalba Kampman Distinguished Service Award honors service in the field of biophysics and contributions beyond achievements in research. The award was renamed for Rosalba Kampman, former Executive Officer of the Biophysical Society, in 2019.


The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific society established to lead an innovative global community working at the interface of the physical and life sciences, across all levels of complexity, and to foster the dissemination of that knowledge. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through its Annual Meeting, publications, and outreach activities. Its 7,500 members are located throughout the world, where they teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories, government agencies, and industry.

Previous Article Nancy Carrasco to Receive Biophysical Society’s 2024 Award for the Biophysics of Health and Disease
Next Article Christy F. Landes to Receive the 2024 Kazuhiko Kinosita Award in Single-Molecule Biophysics

Documents to download