BPS Newsroom

Welcome to the BPS Newsroom, where media can tap into the latest news in the biophysics community.

BPS Announces the Results of its 2019 Elections

ROCKVILLE, MD – Frances Separovic has been elected President-elect of the Biophysical Society (BPS). She will assume the office of President-elect at the 2020 Annual Meeting in San Diego, California and begin her term as President during the 2021 Annual Meeting in Boston, Massachusetts.

Professor Emeritus Separovic serves as Deputy Director of the Bio21 Institute and as Professor in the School of Chemistry at the University of Melbourne.  She received her PhD in physics from the University of New South Wales, Australia, and has been a member of the Biophysical Society since 1985. Separovic has previously served as the Council Secretary, International Committee member, Program Committee member, Council member and Membrane Structure & Assembly subgroup chair.  

“BPS is a community of researchers from different cultures and countries, and I am proud to be president-elect of such an inclusive society. Biophysics underpins much of biological research, from studies of single molecules to whole cells and organisms, and in due course leads to technical innovation and improvements in health. As president, I will promote the importance of biophysics and advocate for appropriate support for research and training,” Separovic said. “BPS has a strong public affairs and outreach program to help support the field of biophysics and the importance of biophysics research. Increasingly, BPS and other societies are being called upon to challenge falsehoods and inaccuracies about science, which can be done through such programs. This is a global challenge that we can confront as an international society and I look forward to working with you to promote biophysics worldwide.”

Four Society members were also elected to serve on Council.  They are:

  • Erin C. Dueber, an industry representative from Genentech, USA,
  • Gilad Haran, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel,
  • Francesca M. Marassi, Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Research Institute, USA and
  • Carolyn A. Moores, Birkbeck College, London, UK

Each will serve a three-year term, beginning on February 14, 2020.

Previous Article Biophysicists Join Effort to Eliminate Sexual Harassment in STEMM
Next Article Yale E. Goldman to Receive the 2020 Kazuhiko Kinosita Award in Single Molecule Biophysics

Documents to download