BPS Newsroom

Welcome to the BPS Newsroom, where media can tap into the latest news in the biophysics community.

Biophysical Society Announces Winners of Student Poster Awards at 12th EBSA 10th ICBP-IUPAP Biophysics Congress

Biophysical Society Announces Winners of Student Poster Awards at 12th EBSA 10th ICBP-IUPAP Biophysics Congress

ROCKVILLE, MD – The Biophysical Society (BPS) is pleased to announce the winners of its student poster competition at the 12th European Biophysical Societies Association (EBSA) and 10th International Conference on Biological Physics (ICBP) - International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) Biophysics Congress in Madrid, Spain, July 20-24, 2019.

This was the sixth EBSA meeting at which BPS held a poster competition, with over 170 students participating this year. Twelve winners were selected to receive a $500 poster award and membership to the Biophysical Society.

The winners, along with their home institution and poster title, are: 

Valentin Dunsing, University of Potsdam, Germany
Microviscosity of Bacterial Biofilm Matrix Characterized by Fluorescence Correlation Spectroscopy and Single Particle Tracking

Jan Ebenhan, Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg, Germany
Measuring Protein Insertion Areas in Lipid Monolayers by Fluorescence Correlation Spectroscopy

Mónica Gutiérrez-Salazar, Institute of Molecular Science, Spain
Photoswitchable Hydrophobic Helical Peptide Shows Slow and Multiexponential Folding Kinetics in POPC Membranes

Sandra Ionescu, University of Oxford, England
Protein Sensors Screened from a Genetically-Engineered Nanopore Library

Alejandro Melero Carrillo, Medical Research Council Laboratory of Molecular Biology, England
Membrane Curvature Generation by COPII Proteins Resolved by Correlative Light and Electron Microscopy

Tetiana Mukhina, Institut Laue–Langevin, France
Out-of-Equilibrium Active Membranes: Incorporation of Bacteriorhodopsin in a Floating Lipid Bilayer

Mónica Muñoz-Úbeda, Complutense University of Madrid, Spain
Gemini/DOPE/PEGylated-Based Lipoplexes for the Efficient Expression of Opa1 Mitochondrial Protein in in Vitro and in Vivo Experiments

Sara Roig, Radboud Institute for Molecular Life Sciences, The Netherlands
TRPV5 – Calmodulin Interaction: Surfaces Involved and Calcium Dependency

Mathias Schenkel, Technical University of Dresden, Germany
Molecular Insights into the Structural Effects of Pathogenic CFTR Mutations and the Action of a Pharmacological Corrector

Till Siebenmorgen, Technical University of Munich, Germany
Evaluation of Predicted Protein–Protein Complexes by Binding Free Energy Simulations

Ho Wah Siu, University of Konstanz, Germany
Design of PolyQ Peptides to Study the Dynamics of Glutamine Interactions Spectroscopically

Kevin Sule, University of Calgary, Canada
Toxic and Essential Metals Influence Membrane Packing and Size of Biomimetic Biological Membranes

Previous Article Biophysical Journal Awards Poster Competition Winners in Lima, Peru
Next Article Biophysicists Join Effort to Eliminate Sexual Harassment in STEMM

Documents to download