BPS Newsroom

Welcome to the BPS Newsroom, where media can tap into the latest news in the biophysics community.

Biophysical Society Announces 2024 Society Fellows

ROCKVILLE, MD – The Biophysical Society is proud to announce its 2024 Society Fellows. This award honors the Society’s distinguished members who have demonstrated excellence in science and contributed to the expansion of the field of biophysics. The Fellows will be honored at the Biophysical Society’s 68th Annual Meeting, being held in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania from February 10-14, 2024. The 2024 Fellows are:

Rommie E. Amaro, University of California, San Diego, USA, for her work on developing methods to enable the simulation of biological molecules in situ and their applications to illuminate the role of glycans in biology.

Ivet Bahar, Laufer Center, Stony Brook University, USA, for pioneering novel models and methods in structural and computational biology, including the elastic network models for protein dynamics that helped bridge protein structure and function.

Jennifer A. Doudna, University of California Berkeley and Innovative Genomics Institute, USAfor her development of a method for genome editing.

Kresten Lindorff-Larsen, University of Copenhagen, Denmark, for his significant contributions to the field of protein biophysics, particularly in integrating computational and experimental methods to study the structure, dynamics, folding and function of proteins.

Gary J. PielakThe University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA, for his biophysical studies on protein structure and dynamics, both in vitro and inside cells, with a particular emphasis on crowding. 

Eugene Shakhnovich, Harvard University, USA, for his work on statistical physics of proteins that illuminated fundamental aspects of folding, design, evolutionary dynamics and complex biological phenomena. 

Michelle D. Wang, Cornell University, USA, for advancing our understanding of transcription, replication, and chromatin dynamics through the lens of DNA mechanics and topology. 


The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific society established to lead an innovative global community working at the interface of the physical and life sciences, across all levels of complexity, and to foster the dissemination of that knowledge. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through its Annual Meeting, publications, and outreach activities. Its 7,500 members are located throughout the world, where they teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories, government agencies, and industry.

Previous Article Biophysical Society Names 2024 Society Award Recipients
Next Article BPS Celebrates Max Planck-Humboldt Medal Awardee Kandice Tanner

Documents to download