Now that we are in the lazy, hazy days of summer, we want to take a moment and once again thank our sponsors for  their support of our February 20, 2010, Motility Subgroup Meeting as well as many of our previous subgroup meetings. It is through their generosity that we are able to support our speakers and provide the coffee break. Please thank your representative at each of the companies below.

Chroma Technology Corp.
Carl Zeiss Microimaging, Inc.
Cytoskeleton Inc.
FEI Company
KinTek Corporation
Nikon Inc.

At this time, we would like to remind you that the 2011 Co-Chairs are Jenny Ross and Christoph Schmidt. See you in  Baltimore, Saturday, March 5, 2011!

Kenneth A. Taylor and Susan P. Gilbert, 2010 Co-Chairs

Subgroup Awards

The Society’s Subgroups recognize scientists at all levels for their accomplishments and contributions to specific areas of biophysics. Below is a list of the Subgroup awards and deadlines. Subgroup awardees are honored during the  subgroup meetings held on the Saturday before the Biophysical Society Annual Meeting. For specific information on each award and to submit nominations, go to the subgroup page at


The Young Bioenergeticist Award is given based on a track record of accomplishments by the candidate as well as the abstract that will be presented at the Biophysical Society Annual Meeting.

Biological Fluorescence

The Gregorio Weber Award for Excellence in Fluorescence Theory and Applications, sponsored by ISS, Inc., is intended  to recognize and honor distinguished investigators who give significant and original contributions to the advancement and applications of fluorescence techniques.

The Young Fluorescence Investigator Award is given to an outstanding  researcher at the beginning of her or his career for significant advancements and/or contributions in or in the use of fluorescence methodologies.

Intrinsically Disordered Proteins

The IDP Postdoctoral Research Awards are given to postdoctoral scholars/fellows for outstanding research in the field of  intrinsically disordered proteins.

Membrane Biophysics

The Kenneth S. Cole Award is given to an investigator who has made a substantial contribution to the understanding of  membrane biophysics.

Exocytosis & Endocytosis

The Sir Bernard Katz Award for Excellence in Research on Exocytosis and Endocytosis is named after the investigator  who established the exocytotic nature of synaptic transmission and discovered the ligand-gated channel basis for the post-synaptic response. He is one of the founding fathers of biophysics and neuroscience.

August 2010 Table of Contents