55th Annual Meeting Program, March 5-9, Baltimore Maryland


Superresolution in Biology: Applications in Important Biological Problems
Lucille Shapiro, Stanford University, Chair
Joshua Shaevitz, Princeton University
Tomas Kirchhausen, Harvard Medical School
Edward Salmon, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Contributions of Network Theory to Biology
Sergei Maslov, Brookhaven National Laboratory, Chair
Sanjay Jain, University of Delhi, India
Pieter Rein ten Wolde, FOM Institute
AMOLF, The Netherlands
Hawoon Jeong, KAIST, South Korea

Noise and Fluctuations in Biology: Where is it Important?
Bill Bialek, Princeton University, Chair
Yuhai Tu, IBM, Watson Research Center Yorktown Heights
Herbert Levine, University of California, San Diego
Linda Kenney, University of Illinois, Chicago

Systems Biology–Control of Cellular Behaviors, Including Gradients and Feedback
Mustafa Khamash, University of California, Santa Barbara, Chair
Hana El-Samad, University of California, San Francisco
Stanislav Shvartsman, Princeton University
Olivier Cinquin, University of California, Irvine

Cell and Tissue Mechanics and Modeling–AFM and Rheology, Small to Tissue Scale
Douglas Robinson, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Chair
Roger Kamm, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Suzanne Eaton, Dresden International Graduate School for Biomedicine and Bioengineering, Germany
Valerie Weaver, University of California, San Francisco

Mechanotransduction at the Cellular Level: Detection and Response
Michael Sheetz, Columbia University, Chair
Donald Ingber, Harvard Medical School
Ellen Lumpkin, Baylor College of Medicine
Ching Kung, University of Wisconsin

Interfaces Between Cells and the Outside World: Bioengineering Meets Biophysics
Nancy Allbritton, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chair
Bianxiao Cui, Stanford University
Charles Lieber, Harvard University
Molly Stevens, Imperial College, London, UK

Molecular Motors and the Cytoskeleton: Moving to the Boundaries
David Warshaw, University of Vermont College of Medicine, Chair
Jennifer Ross, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Michael Welte, Brandeis University
Gijsje Koenderink, FOM Institute AMOLF, The Netherlands

Single Molecule Biophysics of the Central Dogma
Joseph Puglisi, Stanford University School of Medicine, Chair
Vincent Croquette, CNRS
Stefan Grill, Max Planck Institute, Dresden, Germany
Sua Myong, University of Illinois,

What Drives Nucleic Acid Condensation?
Barbara Meyer, University of California, Berkeley, Chair
Bela Mulder, FOM Institute AMOLF, The Netherlands
William Gelbart, University of California, Los Angeles
Robijn Bruinsma, University of California, Los Angeles

50 Years of the Chemiosmotic Hypothesis: Open Questions
Gerhard Hummer, NIDDK, NIH, Chair
Carola Hunte, University of Freiburg, Germany
Klaus Gerwert, Ruhr University, Bochum, Germany
Judy Hirst, Medical Research Council, Cambridge, UK

Ca2+ Regulation of Channels
David Yue, Johns Hopkins University, Chair
Madeline Shea, University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine
Daniel Cox, Tufts University School of Medicine
Lily Jan, University of California, San Francisco

Phospholipid Modulation of Ion Channels
Bertil Hille, University of Washington, Chair
Tamas Balla, NICHD, NIH
Ann Rittenhouse, University of Massachusetts Medical School
Roger Hardie, University of Cambridge, UK

Biophysics of Cystic Fibrosis and CFTR, the Original Channelopathy
David Dawson, Oregon Health and Science University, Chair
Laszio Csanady, Semmelweis University, Budapest, Hungary
William Balch, The Scripps Research Institute
Philip Thomas, University of Texas, Southwestern Medicine Center

25 Years of Membrane Protein Structure
Hartmut Michel, Max Planck Institute of Biophysics, Frankfurt, Germany, Chair
Eric Gouaux, Oregon Health Science University
Tina Iverson, Vanderbilt University
William Weis, Stanford University School of Medicine

The Alternating Access Mechanism in the Era of Transporter Structures
Christopher Miller, Brandeis University, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Chair
H.R. Kaback, University of California, Los Angeles
Geoff Chang, The Scripps Research Institute
Christine Ziegler, Max Planck Institute of Biophysics, Frankfurt, Germany

Remodeling the Membrane
Mark Sansom, University of Oxford, UK, Chair
Klaus Schulten, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Vinzenz Unger, Yale University
Ralf Langen, University of Southern California
Syma Khalid, University of Southampton, UK

Allostery and Ligand Control of Function
Vincent Hilser, University of Texas Medical Branch, Chair
Kevin Gardner, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Dorothy Beckett, University of Maryland, College Park
David Eliezer, Weill Cornell Medical College


Workshops will be held in the evenings on Sunday and Tuesday, 7:30 PM–9:30 PM.

X-ray Free Electron Lasers & Biophysics
Imaging & Mass Spectrometry
Small Angle X-ray Scattering
Engineering Proteins and Fluorophores for Live Cell Sensors
Protein Folding


Minisymposia will be held Sunday –Wednesday, running concurrently with platform sessions.

Apoptosis: The Killer Issue
Nonchannel Functions of Ion Channels
The Diversity of Motors
Nonequilibrium Statistical Mechanics: Theory & Experiment


Subgoup sessions will be held on Saturday, March 5.


Lawrence Prochaska, Wright State University, Subgroup Chair

Morning Symposium
Calcium Signaling and Mitochondria
Gyorgy Hajnoczky, Thomas Jefferson University, and Shey-Shing Sheu, University of Rochester, Co-Chair
David Clapham, Harvard University
Israel Sekler, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Beer-Sheva, Israel
Heping (Peace) Cheng, Peking University, China
Gyorgy Szabadkai, University College, London, UK
John LeMasters, Medical College of South Carolina

Afternoon Symposium
Molecular System Bioenergetics: Combined Theoretical-Computational Approaches to the Analysis of Integrated  Energetic-Signaling Networks
Miguel Aon, Johns Hopkins University, Co-Chair and Uwe Schlattner, University of Grenoble, France, Co-Chairs
Sonia Cortassa, Johns Hopkins University
Ravi Lyengar, Mount Sinai School of Medicine
Boris Kholodenko, University College, Dublin
Valdur Saks, University of Grenoble, France
Jeffrey J. Saucerman, University of Virginia

Biological Fluorescence

Don Lamb, Ludwig Maximillians University, Germany, Subgroup Chair
Speakers to be announced

Biopolymer Biophysics

Pernilla Wittung-Stafshede, Umeå University, and Margaret Cheung, University of Houston, Co-Chairs
Business Meeting and program to be announced

Exocytosis & Endocytosis

Joshua Zimmerberg, NICHD, LCMB, NIH, Subgroup Chair
Speakers to be announced

Intrinsically Disordered Proteins

David Eliezer, Weill Cornell Medical College, Subgroup Chair
IDPs: Function and Dysfunction
Speakers to be announced

Membrane Biophysics

Stephen Tucker, University of Oxford, UK, Subgroup Chair

Single Molecule Approaches to Ion Channel Structure & Function
Speakers to be announced

Membrane Structure & Assembly

Paulo Almeida, University of North Carolina Wilmington, Subgroup Chair

Interactions in Membranes: What, Exactly, Do We Know?
Derek Marsh, Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Germany
Steven Regen, Lehigh University
Thomas Heimburg, Niels Bohr Institute, Denmark
Jean-Luc Popot, Insitut de Biologie Physico-Chimique, France
Alexey Ladokhin, University of Kansas
Paula Booth, University of Bristol, UK

Molecular Biophysics

Olav Schiemann, University St. Andrews, UK, Subgroup Chair

Oligonucleotides: Structure, Dynamics and Complex Formation
Speakers to be announced


Jennifer L. Ross, University of Massachusetts, Subgroup and Christoph F. Schmidt, Georg August University, Göttingen, Subgroup Co-Chairs
Speakers to be announced


Sanford Leuba, Univeristy of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, Chair
Business Meeting and program to be announced

August 2010 Table of Contents