Intrinsically Disordered Proteins

Garyk Papoian, Chair (2017)
Jean Baum, Chair-Elect (2018)
Elizabeth Rhoades, Past Chair (2016)
Steve Metallo, Secretary-Treasurer (2017)

Mark Bowen, Secretary-Treasurer-Elect (2018)

Sarah BondosPast Secretary-Treasurer (2016)

The IDP Subgroup provides a forum for the discussion of intrinsically disordered proteins, with topics including but not limited to experimental and theoretical studies of i) their intrinsically flexible state, ii) the mechanisms of their interactions with each other and with diverse partners including but not limited to structured proteins and nucleic acids, iii) their broadly defined functional roles in biological systems, and iv) their potential involvement in the pathogenesis of conformational and other diseases. The subgroup invites participants from all scientific disciplines with an interest in broadening our understanding of IDPs, ranging from biophysical studies of individual proteins to genomic and proteomic studies in whole organisms. The subgroup welcomes participants from all scientific disciplines, from biophysics and structural biology to proteomics and genomics and beyond.


Jianhan Chen (2017)
David Eliezer (2018)
Sara Vaiana (2019) 
Rebecca Berlow, Postdoc Representative (2016)
Jamie Schiffer, Graduate Student Representative (2016)

Program Chairs for 2017
Joerg Gsponer, University of British Columbia 
Madan Babu, University of Cambridge

Past-Program Co-Chairs for 2016
Martin Blackledge, IBS, France
Jane Dyson, Scripps Research Institute


In order to join the Intrinsically Disordered Proteins Subgroup, you must be a member of the Society.

2016 Annual Meeting Program
2015 Annual Meeting Program
Past IDP Chairs
Past IDP Officers
Postdoctoral Research Awards
Past Postdoctoral Research Awardees
Past Programs
IDP Subgroup Bylaws
IDP State Newsletter