The Biophysical Society 59th Annual Meeting will include symposia that focus on the importance of light and light-based technologies in honor of the International Year of Light and Light-based Technologies (IYL 2015). Several examples are listed below:  

Bacterial Subcelluar Dynamics at Super-Resolution

Julie Biteen, University of Michigan, Chair
David Sherratt, Oxford University, United Kingdom
Simon Foster, Sheffield University, United Kingdom

Advances in Electron Microscopy
Yifan Cheng, University of California, San Francisco, Chair 

Irina Serysheva, University of Texas Medical Center
Bettina Böttcher, University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Hongwei Wang, Tsinghua University, China

Membrane Trafficking

Kerney Jebrell Glover, Lehigh University, Chair
Lois Weisman, University of Michigan
Jenny Hinshaw, NIH
Alexander Kros, Leiden University, The Netherlands

The Society is pleased to be able to offer these symposia in support of IYL 2015. The United Nations (UN) General Assembly 68th Session has proclaimed the IYL to recognize the importance of raising global awareness about how light-based technologies, promote sustainable development, and provide solutions to global challenges in energy, education, agriculture and health. The Society’s Annual Meeting symposia focus on contributions specifically from the biophysical research arena.

View all of the symposia and workshops.