As the Biophysical Society continues to grow, the Society's subgroups allow members to meet and interact within more focused areas in smaller groups. Subgroups hold scientific symposia and business meetings each year on the Saturday that starts the Annual Meeting. They also sponsor several awards, including the Student Research Achievement Awards (SRAA) Poster Competition.

Membership to the Society's subgroups is open to all members. New subgroups may be formed by petition, signed by at least 100 regular members. The petition and accompanying bylaws need to be approved by Council.

Biological Fluorescence

Fluorescence is one of the few methods that allow one to observe interactions between very low concentrations of biological species in real time. Fluorescence can measure parameters such as the diffusion of a protein, its movement through a cell or other medium, and its association with other biological molecules. The purpose of the Biological Fluorescence Subgroup is to share insight into fluorescence-based methods and analysis. Fluorescence methods are very versatile and can be applied to simple molecules in water to complex species in living cells. Subgroup discussions highlight these diverse systems as well as the different methods to best understand them. The fluorescence subgroup meets once a year at the beginning of the Biophysical Society Annual Meeting. The subgroup meeting usually highlights a particular fluorescence method giving the history of the method and its use and application. Speakers include established investigators and junior scientists. Additionally, two students are selected to give short, 10-minute talks about their thesis research. These students are selected from the SRAA applicants. The meeting will also honor fluorescence award winners.

Join the Biological Fluorescence Subgroup Gregorio Weber Award Young Fluorescence Investigator Award 


In order to join the Biological Fluorescence Subgroup, you must be a member of the Society.

Paul Wiseman, Chair (2019)

TBD, Chair-Elect (2020)

TBD, Secretary-Treasurer (2020)


2018 Michelle Digman Univeristy of California, Irvine
2017, 2016 Uli Nienhaus  Karlsruhe Institute of Technology 
2015 Marcia Levitus  Arizona State University 
2014; Enrico Gratton  University of California, Irvine 
2013, 2012 Joachim Mueller University of Minnesota
2012, 2011 Don C. Lamb Ludwig Maximillians University, Germany
2010, 2009 Suzanne Scarlata Stony Brook University
2008, 2007 Ari Gafni University of Michigan
2006 Robert Clegg University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
2005, 2004 Joseph M. Beechem Life Technologies, Inc.
2003, 2002 Enrico Gratton University of California, Irvine
2001 David M. Jameson University of Hawaii
2000 Lesley Davenport Brooklyn College; City University of New York

2018 Symposium

Saturday, February 17, 2018
San Francisco, California
1:00 PM–5:15 PM

View Program

2017 Symposium

Saturday, February 11, 2017
New Orleans, Louisiana
1:00 PM–5:00 PM

View Program

2016 Symposium

Saturday, February 27, 2016
Los Angeles, California
1:00 PM–5:00 PM

View Program

2015 Symposium

Saturday, February 27, 2015
Baltimore, Maryland
1:00 PM–5:00 PM

View Program

2014 Symposium

Saturday, February 15, 2014
San Francisco, California
1:00 PM–4:45 PM

View Program

2013 Symposium

Saturday, February 2, 2013
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1:00 PM–4:50 PM

View Program

2018 Debora Foguel & Jerson L. Silva Federal Univeristy of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
2017  Yves Mély Université de Strasbourg, France
2016  Markus Sauer University of Würzburg, Germany
2015  Ludwig Brand  Johns Hopkins University
2014  Thomas Jovin Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry
2013  Maïté Coppey-Moisan CNRS, Institut Jacques Monod 
2012 Bernard Valeur National Conservatory of Arts & Crafts, Paris, France
2011 Ken Jacobson University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
2010 Daniel Axelrod University of Michigan
2009 Robert M. Clegg University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2008 Antonie J.W.G. Visser   Wageningen Unversity, Netherlands
2007 Elliot L. Elson Washington University School of Medicine
2006 Joseph R. Lakowicz University of Maryland
2005 Enrico Gratton University of California, Irvine
2004 David M. Jameson University of Hawaii

2016  Kandice Tanner National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, MD
2015  Richard Benninger
Jay Unruh
University of Colorado Denver
Stowers Institute for Medical Research
2014  Elizabeth Hinde  University of New South Wales 
2013  Jonas Ries       European Molecular Biology Laboratory 
2012 Michelle Digman  University of California, Irvine 
2011  Péter Nagy  University of Debrecen 
2010  Jan Willem Borst    Wageningen University 
2009  Ben Schuler     University of Zurich