Thematic Meeting in Ireland

Disordered Motifs and Domains in Cell Control

October 11–15, 2014, Dublin, Ireland

The Biophysical Society is sponsoring a meeting on disordered motifs and domains in cell control, which will bring together biophysicists studying the dynamic behavior of linear motifs, often with disordered regions of proteins, and their roles in molecular recognition using NMR, single molecule fluorescence, AFM, SAXS, computational methods, etc.; cell biologists discovering and characterizing linear motif mediated interactions and their regulation using classical biochemical and cell biological techniques; systems biologists discovering linear motif mediated interactions on a proteome scale using high-throughput experimental methods and studying the higher level function and behavior exhibited by these molecular recognition events; and computational biologists creating community resources, modeling motif-driven complex systems, and developing in-silico linear motif analysis tools using the available knowledge of these interfaces.

Abstract Submission Deadline: June 2, 2014
Registration Deadline: July 11, 2014

For program information, registration, and abstract submission, visit:

Anna Akhmanova, Utrecht University, The Netherlands
Elisar Barbar, Oregon State University
Martin Blackledge, Institut de Biologie Structurale, France
Norman Davey, University of California at San Francisco
Ashok Deniz, The Scripps Research Institute
Keith Dunker, Indiana University
Jane Dyson, The Scripps Research Institute
Stephan Feller, Weatherall Institute of Molecular Medicine, United Kingdom
Toby Gibson, European Molecular Biology Laboratory, Germany
Philip Kim, University of Toronto, Canada
Richard Kriwacki, St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital
Edward Lemke, European Molecular Biology Laboratory, Germany
Sonia Longhi, CNRS et Université d’ Aix-Marseille, France
Mart Loog, University of Tartu, Estonia
Maria Macias, Institute of Research in Biomedicine, Spain
Tanja Mittag, St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital
Alan Moses, University of Toronto, Canada
Rohit Pappu, Washington University of St. Louis
Elizabeth Rhoades, Yale University
Brenda Schulman, St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital
Shu-ou Shan, California Institute of Technology
Denis Shields, University College of Dublin, Ireland
Peter Tompa, Vlaams Instituut voor Biotechnologie, Belgium
Gilles Trave, University of Strasbourg, France
Liesbeth Veenhoff, University of Groningen, The Netherlands
Kylie Walters, Center for Cancer Research, NCI
Peter Wright, The Scripps Research Institute