Bezanilla Voted President-Elect

Seven Members Elected to Council

Francisco Bezanilla of the University of Chicago was elected President-Elect of the Biophysical Society in the 2011 Society elections. He will assume that office at the 2012 Annual Business Meeting in San Diego, California. His term as President will begin at the 2013 Annual Business Meeting in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

Seven Society members were elected to Council, each for a three-year term that will begin at the 2012 Annual Meeting. They are (pictured at right): Taekjip Ha, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Samantha Harris, University of California, Davis; Marcia Levitus, Arizona State University; Merritt Maduke, Stanford University; Daniel Minor, University of California, San Francisco; Jeanne Nerbonne, Washington University Medical School; and David Yue, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. A record 31% of eligible members cast their ballots this year. The Society is indebted to all candidates who ran in these elections and to the members who cast their votes.

September 2011 Table of Contents