2014 Annual Meeting Symposia

Force Sensing in Muscle

Mathias Gautel, King’s College London, United Kingdom, and Gabriella Piazzesi, University of Florence, Italy, Co-Chairs

Kenneth Campbell, University of Kentucky
Michael Regnier, University of Washington

Myosin Motors in Vitro and in Cells

Michelle Peckham, University of Leeds, United Kingdom, and Margaret Titus, University of Minnesota, Co-Chairs

Laurent Blanchoin, University of Grenoble, France
Jan Faix, Hannover Medical School, Germany

Regulation of Cytoskeletal Motors

Marileen Dogterom, AMOLF, The Netherlands, and Kazuhiro Oiwa, National Institute of Information and Communications Technology, Japan, Co-Chairs

Yale Goldman, University of Pennsylvania
Stanley Burgess, University of Leeds, United Kingdom

Membrane Transport in Fatty Acid
Synthesis and Obesity

Da-Neng Wang, New York University School of Medicine, and Ana Pajor, University of California, San Diego, Co-Chairs

Stephen Helfand, Brown University
Gerald Shulman, Yale University

Molecular Basis of Voltage Dependence

Eduardo Perozo, University of Chicago, and Sudha Chakrapani, Case Western Reserve University, Co-Chairs

Nieng Yan, Tsinghua University, China
Yasushi Okamura, Osaka University, Japan
Baron Chanda, University of Wisconsin–Madison

Mechanosensing in Eukaryotes

Jeffrey Holt, Harvard University & Boston Children’s Hospital, and Valeria Vasquez, Stanford University, Co-Chairs

Elizabeth Haswell, Washington University in St. Louis
Miriam Goodman, Stanford University
Ardem Patapoutiam, Scripps Research Institute

Molecular Basis for Regulation of Ca2+ Channels

Stephen Long, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, and Amy Lee, University of Iowa, Co-Chairs

Annette Dolphin, University College London, United Kingdom
Heping Peace Cheng, Peking University, China
Jörg Striessnig, University of Innsbruck, Austria

Structures of Membrane Fusion

Anne Ulrich, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany, and David Weliky, Michigan State University, Co-Chairs

Peter Kasson, University of Virginia
Lukas Tamm, University of Virginia

Biophysics of Genetic Switches

Laura Finzi, Emory University, and Ido Golding, Baylor College of Medicine, Co-Chairs

Lucille Shapiro, Stanford University
Keith Shearwin, University of Adelaide, Australia

RNA Assemblies and DNA Origami

Christina Smolke, Stanford University, and Andrew Turberfield, University of Oxford, United Kingdom, Co-Chairs

Luc Jaeger, University of California, Santa Cruz
Tim Liedl, Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich, Germany

Structural Dynamics of Molecular Machines

Julio Fernandez, Columbia University, and Yasmine Meroz, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel, Co-Chairs

Johan Elf, Uppsala University, Sweden Robert Sauer, MIT

Applications of Quantum Mechanics to Biophysical Problems

Qiang Cui, University of Wisconsin–Madison, and Sharon Hammes-Schiffer, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Co-Chairs

Kenneth Merz, University of Florida
Ursula Rothlisberger, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Switzerland

Celebrating 100 Years of Crystallography: X-Rays Are Photons Too

Jane Richardson, Duke University, and Gregory Petsko, Brandeis University, Co-Chairs

John Spence, Arizona State University
William Weiss, Stanford University
Thomas Terwilliger, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Jamie Cate, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Biophysics of Cell Division and Spatial Relationships

Susan Biggins, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, and Wallace Marshall, University of California, San Francisco, Co-Chairs

Daniel Fletcher, University of California, Berkeley
Matthieu Piel, Curie Institute, France

Force Generation in Cell and Tissue Networks

Michael Sheetz, Columbia University, and Clare Waterman, NHLBI, Co-Chairs

Alexander Bershadsky, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
Frank Jülicher, Max Planck Institute for the Physics of Complex Systems, Germany

Cellular Stress, Protein Folding, and Disease

Conner Sandefur, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and Judy Kim, University of California, San Diego, Co-Chairs

Nikolay Dokholyan, University of North
Carolina at Chapel Hill
Richard Morimoto, Northwestern University Santiago Schnell, University of Michigan

Biophysics of Personalized Medicine

Donald Engelman, Yale University, and Kathleen Giacomini, University of California, San Francisco,

Charles Cantor, Boston University
Atul Butte, Stanford University

Stochasticity in Cellular Processes

Nathalie Questembert-Balaban, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel, and Rachel Kuske, University
of British Columbia, Canada, Co-Chairs

Stanislas Leibler, Rockefeller University
Elizabeth Read, University of California, Irvine

Liquid Protein Assemblies in Spatial Organization and Ultrasensitive Signaling in Cells

Julie D. Forman-Kay, Hospital for Sick Children, Canada, and Tanja Mittag, St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital, Co-Chairs

Edward A. Lemke, European Molecular Biology Laboratory, Germany
Michael K. Rosen, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Régis Pomès, Hospital for Sick Children, Canada

Molecular Self-Assembly:
from in Vitro to Cellular Systems

Roy Bar-Ziv, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel, and Suzanne Gaudet, Harvard University, Co-Chairs

David Savage, University of California, Berkeley
Todd Yeates, University of California, Los Angeles

Biophysics in Industry: Putting Evolution in Practice

Kenneth Dill, Stony Brook University,
and Timothy Gardner, Amyris, Inc., Co-Chairs

Christopher Voigt, MIT
Peter Licari, Solazyme, Inc.

  July 2013 Table of Contents