Five Society Members Named 2012 Awardees

The Biophysical Society is proud to announce the recipients of five of the 2012 Society Awards. These members will be honored at the Awards Symposium on Tuesday, February 28, 2012, in San Diego, California, where they will each give a presentation.

Charles R. Sanders, Vanderbilt University, will receive the Anatrace Membrane Protein Award for his innovative research in the field of membrane protein structure using NMR spectroscopy and contributions both to the development of model membrane systems and to unraveling the biophysical mechanisms underlying diseases linked to membrane protein misfolding and dysfunction.
Huey W. Huang, Rice University, will be presented with the Avanti Award in Lipids for his unique and seminal work that defines how drugs and poreforming proteins and peptides interact with lipid bilayers.
Sunney Xie, Harvard University, will be honored with the Founders Award for his influential contributions to the study of biological systems at the single-molecule level, and the development of coherent nonlinear vibrational microscopy.
Vijay Pande, Stanford University, will be awarded the Michael and Kate Bárány Award for Young Investigators for developing field-defining and field-changing computational methods to produce leading theoretical models for protein and RNA folding.
Lucy R. Forrest, Max Planck Institute of Biophysics, will receive the Margaret Oakley Dayhoff Award for her critical research on conformational changes of membrane proteins related to their function, and her impact on the field of computational structural biology.