|
-->

International Mentors



Many of the members of Biophysical Society are postdocs who are citizens of countries other than the US, and who live temporarily in the US during their postdoctoral appointments. Many of these members desire to return to their home countries to pursue scientific careers after their postdoctoral stay. The members below have agreed to communicate via email with postdocs wishing to return to their home countries to establish careers. The role of these mentors is to give advice and information concerning recruitment procedures and timing.

Each mentor is listed under the country he/she is from. Postdocs may contact mentors regardless of which country they are listed under.

Argentina
Australia
Chile
France
Germany
Israel
Italy
Japan
Mexico
Portugal
Spain
Switzerland
United Kingdom
Venezuela

Argentina

Francisco Jose Barrantes, MD,PhD
Univ Nacional Sur Conicet
Inst Invest Bioquim
Camino de La Carrindanga 7 C C 857
B-8000 FWB Bahia Blanca
ARGENTINA
54 291 486 1201 phone
54 291 486 1200 fax
rtfjb1@yahoo.com

Australia

Cristobal G. dos Remedios, PhD
Univ Sydney Inst Biomed Res
Dept Anat/Histol
Muscle Res Unit F 13
Sydney, NSW 2006
AUSTRALIA
61 29 351 3209 phone
61 29 351 2813 fax
crisdos@anatomy.usyd.edu.au

David Allen, PhD
Univ Sydney
Dept Physiology
Sydney, NSW 2006
AUSTRALIA
61 293 351 2058 fax
davida@physiol.usyd.edu.au

Chile

Ramon Latorre de la Cruz, PhD
CECS
Dpto Biofis/Molec Physiol
Avda Arturo Prat 514
Valdivia
CHILE
56 63 234 4500 phone
56 63 234 5415 fax
ramon@cecs.cl

Cecilia Hidalgo, PhD
Univ Chile
Fac Med ICBM
Casilla 70005
Santiago 7
CHILE
56 2 678 6510 phone
56 2 777 6916 fax
chidalgo@machi.med.uchile.cl

France

Francoise Livolant, PhD
Univ Paris, Sud
Lab Phys/Solides
Bat 510
F-91405 Orsay
FRANCE
33 16 915 5392 phone
33 16 915 6086 fax
livolant@lps.u-psud.fr

Jean-Claude Brochon, PhD
LBPA UMR 8532 CNRS
Ecole Normale Superieure Cachan
63 Ave du President Wilson
F-94235 Cachan Cedex
FRANCE
33 14 740 2717 phone
33 14 740 2479 fax
Jean-Claude.Brochon@lbpa.ens-cachan.fr

Daniel Lavalette, PhD
Inst Curie INSERM U.350
Dept Molec Biophys
Bat 112
F-91405 Orsay
FRANCE
33 16 986 3181 phone
33 16 907 5327 fax
Daniel.Lavalette@curie.u-psud.fr

Catherine A. Royer
INSERM U554 UMR 5048 CNRS
Ctr Biochim Struc
Univ Montpellier I
29 rue de Navacelles
F-34090 Montpellier
33 4 67 41 79 02 phone
33 4 67 41 79 13 fax
royer@cbs.cnrs.fr 

Guy Vassort, PhD
INSERM U390
Dept Physiopathol Cardiovasc
CHU Arnaud de Villeneuve
F-34295 Montpellier
FRANCE
33 46 741 5241 phone
33 46 741 5242 fax
vassort@montp.inserm.fr

Germany

Erwin Neher, PhD
Max Planck Inst Biophys Chem
Abt Membranbiophysik
Am Fassberg 11
D-37077 Goettingen
GERMANY
49 551 201 1630 phone
eneher@gwdg.de

Joerg Langowski, PhD
German Cancer Res Ctr
Div Biophys Macromolec
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
D-69120 Heidelberg
GERMANY
49 622 142 3390 phone
49 622 142 3991 fax
jl@dkfz.de

Gerd Ulrich Nienhaus, PhD
Univ Ulm
Dept Biophysics
Albert Einstein Allee 11
D-89081 Ulm
GERMANY
49 731 502 3050 phone
49 731 502 3059 fax
uli@uiuc.edu

Wolfgang A. Linke, PhD
Univ Heidelberg
Inst Physiol Pathophysiol
Im Neuenheimer Feld 326
D-69120 Heidelberg
GERMANY
49 622 154 4130 phone
49 622 154 4049 fax
Wolfgang.Linke@urz.uni-heidelberg.de

Reinhard Jahn
Max Planck Inst Biophys Chem
Dept Neurobiology
AM Fassberg 11
D-37077 Goettingen
GERMANY
49 551 201 1634 phone
49 551 201 1639 fax
rjahn@gwdg.de

Winfried Denk, PhD
Max Plank Inst Med Res
Dept Biomed Optics
Jahnstr 29
D-69120 Heidelberg
GERMANY
49 622 148 6335 phone
49 622 148 6325 fax
denk@mpimf-heidelberg.mpg.de

Israel

Nathan Dascal, PhD
Tel Aviv Univ Sackler Sch Med
Dept Physiol/Pharmacol
Ramat Aviv
69978 Tel Aviv
ISRAEL
972 36405743 phone
972 36409113 fax
dascain@post.tau.ac.il

Italy

Paolo Neyroz, MD,PhD
Univ Bologna
Dept Biochemistry
via San Donato 19/2
I-40126 Bologna
ITALY
39 05 125 3158 phone
39 05 124 2978 fax
neyroz@biocfarm.unibo.it

Maurizio Brunori, MD,PhD
Univ di Roma, La Sapienza
Dip Sci Biochim
Piazzale A Moro 5
I-00185 Rome
ITALY
39 06 445 0291 phone
Maurizio.brunori@uniroma1.it

Japan

Kazuyuki Akasaka, PhD
Kinki Univ
Sch Biol Oriented Sci/Tech
930 Nishimitani
Uchida cho Wakayama ken, 649-6493
JAPAN
81 736 77 0345 phone
81 736 77 4754 fax
akasaka8@spring8.or.jp

Mexico

Agustin Guerrero-Hernandez, PhD
CINVESTAV-IPN
Dept Bioquimica
AP Postal 14-740
Mexico DF, 07000
Mexico
52 5 747 3880 phone
52 5 747 7083 fax
aguerrer@mail.cinvestav.mx

Marcia Hiriart, MD,PhD
UNAM
Inst Fisiol Celular
Circuito Exterior AP70-253
Ciudad Universitaria
Mexico DF, 04510
MEXICO
52 5 622 5665 phone
52 5 622 5607 fax
mhiriart@ifc.unam.mx

Nina Pastor, PhD
Univ Autonoma Estado Morelos
Fac Ciencias
Ave Universidad 1001
Col Chamilpa
Cuernavaca, 62210
MEXICO
52 777 329 7020 phone
52 777 329 7040 fax
nina@servm.fc.uaem.mx

Portugal

Manuel Prieto
Centro de Química-Física Molecular
Complexo Interdisciplinar, IST
Av. Rovisco Pais
P-1049-001
Lisboa
PORTUGAL
351-21-8419219/8419248 phone
351-21-846 44 fax
prieto@alfa.ist.utl.pt

Spain

M. Pilar Lillo, PhD
CSIC, Inst Quim/Fis
Dept Biophysics
Serrano 119
E-28006 Madrid
SPAIN
34 91 561 9400 ext.1400 phone
34 91 564 2431 fax
pilar.lillo@iqfr.csic.es

Juan A. Subirana, PhD
Univ Politec Catalunya
Dept Eng/Quim
Diagonal 647
E-08028 Barcelona
SPAIN
34 93 401 6688 phone
34 93 401 7150 fax
Juan.A.Subirana@upc.es

Switzerland

Ernst Niggli, MD
Univ Bern
Inst Physiology
Buehlplatz 5
CH-3012 Bern
SWITZERLAND
41 31 631 8730 phone
41 31 631 4611 fax
niggli@pyl.unibe.ch

United Kingdom

Sian E. Harding, PhD
Imperial Col Sch Med
Natl Heart/Lung Inst
Dept Cardiac Med
Dovehouse St
London, SW3 6LY
UK
44 207 351 8146 phone
44 207 823 3392 fax
sian.harding@imperial.ac.uk

Michael A. Geeves, PhD
Univ Kent, Canterbury
Dept Biosciences
Canterbury, CT2 7NJ
UK
44 122 782 7597 phone
44 122 776 3912 fax
m.a.geeves@kent.ac.uk

Annette C. Dolphin, PhD
Univ Col London
Dept Pharmacology
Gower St Medawar Bldg
London, WC1E 6BT
UK
42 207 679 3276 phone
42 207 813 2808 fax
a.dolphin@ucl.ac.uk

Peter M. Bayley, PhD
Natl Inst Med Res
Phys Biochem Div
The Ridgeway
Mill Hill
London, NW7 1AA
UK
44 208 959 3666 phone
44 208 906 4477 fax
pbayley@nimr.mr.ac.uk

David A. Eisner, PhD
Univ Manchester
Dept Medicine
1.524 Stopford Bldg
Oxford Rd
Manchester, M13 9PT
UK
44 161 275 2702 phone
44 161 275 2703 fax
mdcpsdae@fs1.scg.man.ac.uk

Anthony Watts
Oxford University
Department of Biochemistry
S Parks Rd
Oxford, OX1 3QU
UK
44 1865 275 268 phone
44 1865 275 234 fax
anthony.watts@bioch.ox.ac.uk

Venezuela

Raul Padron, PhD
IVIC
Dept Biologia Estructural
Apdo 21827
Caracas, 1020-A
VENEZUELA
58 212 504 1098 phone
58 212 504 1444 fax
padron@ivic.ve

Guillermo Whittembury, MD
IVIC
Ctr Biofis/Bioquim
Aptdo 21827 San Martin
Caracas, 1020-A
VENEZUELA
582 504 1120 phone
582 504 1093 fax
gwhitt@web.ivic.ve