BPS Store

Grid View List View
2018 Biopolymers in vivo Subgroup

2018 Biopolymers in vivo Subgroup

sku Product SKU:  DUES-BIOPOLYMER-2018

Patricia Clark, Chair (2018) 

Simon Ebbinghaus, Chair-Elect (2019) 

Gary Pielak, Past Chair (2017)

Daryl Eggers, Secretary-Treasurer (2015-2019)


The purpose of this subgroup is to create a forum to discuss biophysical properties and function of biomolecules in cells and cell-like conditions, and to develop experimental and computational approaches to study these phenomena. The subgroup invites participants from all scientific disciplines with an interest in broadening our understanding of biophysical processes in cells, using approaches ranging from biophysical studies of biomolecules in vitro and in silico to experiments performed in living cells and beyond. We believe that this is a timely and emerging field of high importance for all aspects of biophysics.

Although biopolymers such as proteins and nucleic acids are the workhorses of the cell, our knowledge about how they behave in cells is limited. One reason for this shortcoming is that the microenvironments inside cells and in cell membranes (and in extracellular spaces of multi-cellular organisms) are extremely complex, with macromolecules together occupying as much as 40% of volume but with the composition of macromolecules highly heterogeneous and constantly changing.


The name of this subgroup, "Biopolymers in vivo," was voted and approved at the 2011 BPS Meeting. We will continue to host a business meeting and a subgroup dinner and organize a symposium on the Saturday before the Annual Meeting of the Biophysical Society. Everyone is encouraged to become a member of this subgroup and to attend the subgroup’s Saturday events. 



Program Co-Chairs

Dora Tang (2018)

Allan Drummond (2018)


Members at Large

Anne Gershenson (2017-2020)

Zoya Ignatova (2016-2019)

Elijah Roberts (2015-2018)


Student Representative

Rayna Addabbo (2017)


Subgroup Facebook and Twitter pages

USD 20.0000

2018 Intrinsically Disordered Proteins

2018 Intrinsically Disordered Proteins

sku Product SKU:  DUES-INTDISPRO-2018

Jean Baum, Chair (2018)

Tanja Mittag, Chair-Elect (2019)

Garyk Papoian, Past Chair (2017)

Mark Bowen, Secretary-Treasurer (2018)

Loren Hough, Secretary-Treasurer-Elect (2019)

Steve Metallo, Past Secretary-Treasurer (2017)


The IDP Subgroup provides a forum for the discussion of intrinsically disordered proteins, with topics including but not limited to experimental and theoretical studies of i) their intrinsically flexible state, ii) the mechanisms of their interactions with each other and with diverse partners including but not limited to structured proteins and nucleic acids, iii) their broadly defined functional roles in biological systems, and iv) their potential involvement in the pathogenesis of conformational and other diseases. The subgroup invites participants from all scientific disciplines with an interest in broadening our understanding of IDPs, ranging from biophysical studies of individual proteins to genomic and proteomic studies in whole organisms. The subgroup welcomes participants from all scientific disciplines, from biophysics and structural biology to proteomics and genomics and beyond.



David Eliezer (2018)

Sara Vaiana (2019) 

Jeetain Mittal (2020)

Jamie Schiffer, Postdoc Representative (2018)

Xiaohan Li, Graduate Student Representative (2018)


Program Co-Chairs for 2018

Robert Best, NIH

Scott Showalter, Pennsylvania State University


Past-Program Co-Chairs for 2017

Joerg Gsponer, University of British Columbia 

Madan Babu, University of Cambridge

USD 20.0000

  • Paid! View Details {{product.ModelName}}


    Select {{product.UnitCost | currency : '$' : 2}} {{product.SalePrice | currency : '$' : 2}} {{product.UnitCost | currency : '$' : 2}}