BPS Newsroom

Welcome to the BPS Newsroom, where media can tap into the latest news in the biophysics community.

Jeanne C. Stachowiak to Receive 2023 Michael and Kate Bárány Award for Young Investigators

ROCKVILLE, MD – The Biophysical Society is pleased to announce that Jeanne C. Stachowiak, PhD, of the University of Texas at Austin will receive the 2023 Michael and Kate Bárány Award for Young Investigators. Stachowiak will be honored at the Society’s 67th Annual Meeting in San Diego, California, February 18-22, 2023.

Stachowiak is recognized for her paradigm shifting discovery in the field of membrane biophysics, demonstrating that proteins can induce membrane curvature solely through a surface crowding mechanism.

“The Biophysical Society is committed to creating opportunities for researchers to advance their scientific careers,” said BPS President Gail Robertson, University of Wisconsin-Madison. “Dr. Stachowiak has already succeeded in establishing herself as a key scientist in the area of membrane shaping and is recognized by her peers for her expertise. We are excited to follow her career and achievements in future.”

About the Award – The Michael and Kate Bárány Award for Young Investigators recognizes an outstanding contribution to biophysics by a person who has not achieved the rank of full professor at the time of nomination. In recognition of the endowment gift from Michael and Kate Bárány, the award was renamed in 1998.

Previous Article Karen G. Fleming to Receive 2023 Avanti Award in Lipids
Next Article Jin Zhang to Receive 2023 Carolyn Cohen Innovation Award

Documents to download