BPS Newsroom

Welcome to the BPS Newsroom, where media can tap into the latest news in the biophysics community.

Krzysztof Palczewski to Receive 2023 Anatrace Membrane Protein Award

ROCKVILLE, MD – The Biophysical Society is pleased to announce that Krzysztof (Kris) Palczewski, PhD, of the University of California, Irvine - Center for Translational Vision Research, has been named the recipient of the Society’s 2023 Anatrace Membrane Protein Award. Palczewski will be honored at the Society’s 67th Annual Meeting in San Diego, California, February 18-22, 2023.

Palczewski is recognized for his foundational work on the G protein-coupled receptor (GPCR) rhodopsin and disease mechanisms and treatments; and his impact on structural biology, notably lipid interactions and conformational changes exhibited on ligand binding and isomerization. His pioneering research and dedication to developing novel therapeutic approaches for treating blinding diseases have brought him international recognition and set the foundation for significant breakthroughs in GPCR.

“It is an honor to recognize Dr. Palczewski’s outstanding contributions to our understanding of underlying disease mechanisms and treatment for blindness,” said BPS President Gail Robertson, University of Wisconsin-Madison. “His long and impressive track record reflects a history of pioneering research and innovation. His work—whether on the structure of the GPCR rhodopsin, G protein-coupled signaling, the phototransduction cascade, structure and biochemistry of the chromophore of vision, introduction of systems pharmacology to vision therapy, or genetic interventions to stave off blindness—stands at the very top of his field.”

About the Award - Funded by Anatrace, Inc., this award recognizes an outstanding investigator who has made a significant contribution to the field of membrane protein research. The award is designed to promote membrane protein studies and recognize excellence in the field.

Previous Article Biophysical Society Announces 2023 Society Fellows
Next Article Karen G. Fleming to Receive 2023 Avanti Award in Lipids

Documents to download