BPS Newsroom

Welcome to the BPS Newsroom, where media can tap into the latest news in the biophysics community.

Biophysical Society Names 2024 Travel Award Recipients

ROCKVILLE, MD – The Biophysical Society is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2024 Society Travel Awards. These awards are very competitive in nature and are intended to recognize Society members for excellence in biophysics. The winners will be honored at the 68th Annual Biophysical Society Meeting, being held in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania from February 10-10, 2024.

Yasser Aboelkassem, University of Michigan – Flint, USA – “AI-Enabled Stochastic Model for Predicting Mutation Effects on Cardiac Sarcomere Contraction”

Juan C. Calderón, University of Antioquia, Colombia – “Three New Toxins from the South American Spider Pamphobeteus Verdolaga Inhibit Calcium and Potassium Channel Currents of Murine Cardiomyocytes”

Fábio M. Fernandes, Instituto Superior Tecnico, Portugal – “Quantifying the Cytoprotective Efficiency of Extracellular Vesicles (EVS) Against Staphylococcus Aureus Alpha-Hemolysin”

Sri Rama Koti Ainavarapu, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, India – “Crowding-Induced Effects on the Stability of Ubiquitin-Family Proteins”

Chad Leidy, Universidad de los Andes, Colombia – “Staphylococcus Aureus Responds to Oxygen-Restricted Growth Conditions by Triggering Changes in Membrane Biophysical Properties Through Shifts in Lipid Composition”

Reginald McNulty, University of California, Irvine, USA – “Elucidating the Mechanism of NLRP3 Inflammasome Interaction with Mitochondrial DNA”

Lidia Ruth Montes, University of the Basque Country, Spain – “The Interplay Between GABARAPL1 and the ATG12-ATG5-ATG16L1 Complex During Autophagosome Formation”

Tapan K. Nayak, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, India – “Mechanism of Allosteric Communication in the Neuromuscular Acetylcholine Receptors”

Genki Terashi, Purdue University, USA – “Deepmainmast and Cryoread: Protein and Dna/Rna Structure Modeling for CRYO-EM Using Deep Learning”




The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific society established to lead an innovative global community working at the interface of the physical and life sciences, across all levels of complexity, and to foster the dissemination of that knowledge. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through its Annual Meeting, publications, and outreach activities. Its 7,500 members are located throughout the world, where they teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories, government agencies, and industry.

Previous Article Biophysical Society Names 2024 Graduate Travel Award Recipients
Next Article Biophysical Society Names 2024 Undergraduate Travel Award Recipients

Documents to download