BPS Newsroom

Welcome to the BPS Newsroom, where media can tap into the latest news in the biophysics community.

Biophysical Society Announces Student Poster Award Winners from the 14th EBSA Congress

ROCKVILLE, MD – The Biophysical Society (BPS) is pleased to announce the winners of its student poster competition at the 14th European Biophysical Societies’ Association (EBSA) Congress in Stockholm, Sweden, July 31-August 4, 2023.

This was the eigth EBSA Congress during which BPS sponsored a poster competition. Of the 129 students participating, 13 winners were selected to receive a $500 award, membership to the Biophysical Society, and complimentary meeting registration to the 68th Annual Biophysical Society Meeting in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, February 10-14, 2024.

The 2023 winners, along with their home institution and poster title, are: 

Matilde Accorsi, Max Planck Institute of Colloids and Interfaces, Germany
Calcium as a Protein-Free Fusogen in GUVs: An Elusive Effect

Elena Ackermann, Georg-August-Universität Göttingen, Germany
Stay Viscoelastic: Mechanical Properties of Minimal Actin Cortices Accessed by Atomic Force Microscopy

Nicoletta Braidotti, Università Degli Studi Di Trieste, Italy
Piezo1 Channel Investigation in Cardiac Fibrosis Precursor Cells Mechano-Physiology

Debanjana Das, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR), India
Metal-Binding and Circular Permutation-Dependent Thermodynamic and Kinetic Stability of Azurin

Eduarda Fernandes, Centre of Physics from Universities of Minho and Porto, University of Minho, Portugal
Biophysical Insights of an Innovative Lipid-Engineered Stratum Corneum Model for Compound permeation Studies

Cenk Gurdap, Karolinska Institutet, Sweden
High-throughput biophysical Mapping in Health and Disease

Julia Valderas Gutiérrez, Lund University, Sweden
Optical Biosensing and Single-Molecule Detection Enhanced with Aerotaxy Lightguiding Nanowires

Vilmantas Pupkis, Vilniaus Universitetas, Lithuania
Electrical Excitability-Enhancing Action of Inositol 1,4,5 Trisphosphate (IP3) on macroalgae Nitellopsis Obtuse

Ellen Sjule, Karolinska Institutet, Sweden
A Guideline for Quantitative Characterization and Application of Environment-Sensitive Probes

Anna Stoib, Johannes Kepler Universität Linz, Austria
Investigating the pH Dependent Solute Permeabilities of Helicobacter Pyloris Urea Channel UreI

Ana-Maria Udrea, National Institute for Laser, Plasma and Radiation Physics, Romania
Laser Irradiated Chlorpromazine - Application in Breast Cancer Treatment

Yagmur Balim Urem, Karolinska Institutet, Sweden
A Guideline for Quantitative Characterization and Application of Environment-Sensitive Probes

Jip Wulffele, Institut de Biologie Structurale, France
Single Particle Tracking PALM Provides Insight into Nucleoid Remodeling in Deinococcus Radiodurans


The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific society established to lead an innovative global community working at the interface of the physical and life sciences, across all levels of complexity, and to foster the dissemination of that knowledge. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through its Annual Meeting, publications, and outreach activities. Its 7,500 members are located throughout the world, where they teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories, government agencies, and industry.

Previous Article The Biophysicist Names Padmini Rangamani as New Editor-in-Chief
Next Article Biophysical Society Announces the Results of its 2023 Elections

Documents to download