Anatrace Membrane Protein Award

2013 Anatrace Membrane Protein Awardee:

Carol Robinson
University of Oxford

Past Awardees:
2012: Charles R. Sanders
2011: Shelagh Ferguson-Miller
2010: Tom A. Rapoport
2009: Robert M. Stroud
2008: H. Ronald Kaback

Established in 2007, first awarded in 2008.

Deadline for nominations: May 1 of each year.
The Anatrace Membrane Protein Award, funded by Anatrace Inc., was established to recognize an outstanding investigator who has made a significant contribution to the field of membrane protein research. The award is designed to promote membrane protein studies and recognize excellence in the field. This $3,000 award is distributed annually.


  • Nominee must have made an exceptional contribution to the field of membrane protein research including but not limited to studies of the structure, biochemistry, or biological function of membrane proteins.
  • Nominees must not have received the Anatrace Award in any prior 5-year period and may not nominate themselves.
  • Nominee must be a member of the Society in good standing.
  • Nominator must submit completed Nomination Form and required documents.

Nomination packets must include the following:

  1. Completed Award Nomination Form
  2. Letter (no more than 4 pages) describing qualifications of the nominee and commenting on the nominee's scientific contributions to the field of membrane protein biochemistry/biophysics
  3. Two supporting letters
  4. Nominee’s curriculum vitae, including all relevant publications

Fill out nomination form and submit required materials in PDF format here.