Membrane Structure & Assembly Subgroup 2018 Symposium
Saturday, February 17, 2018
San Francisco, California
1:00 PM- 6:00 PM
North Lower Lobby Room 25
Subgroup Chair: Tobias Baumgart, University of Pennsylvania

1:00 PM Opening Remarks

1:05 PM
Syma Khalid, University of Southampton, UK
The Cell Envelope of Gram-Negative Bacteria: The More We Know, the More We Don't Know!

1:35 PM
Alf Honigmann, Max Planck Institute, Germany
Membrane Scaffolding at the Tight Junction: Superresolution and Reconstitution

2:05 PM 
Linda Columbus, University of Virginia
Differences between Micelles, Bicelles, and Membranes and the Impact on Membrane Protein Structure

2:35 PM 
Martin Ulmschneider, Johns Hopkins University 
Spontaneous Assembly of Functional Membrane Proteins from Soluble Membrane Active Peptides

3:05 PM Break

3:30 PM
Sergio Grinstein, University of Toronto, Canada
Receptor Mobility Is Regulated by the Cytoskeleton Connected to an Exoskeleton via Transmembrane Pickets: Role in Phagocytosis

4:00 PM
Markus Deserno,Carnegie Mellon University
Revisiting Membrane Nano-Elasticity: Tilt, Composition, and Higher Order Headaches

4:30 PM
Thomas E. Thompson Award & Lecture 
Daniel Huster, University of Leipzig, Germany
NMR Investigations of Lipid Chains: A Book of Tails

5:10 PM Business Meeting

5:50 PM Closing Remarks

6:00 PM Adjournment

The Membrane Structure & Assembly Subgroup is grateful for support from the following companies: