Symposia cover broad topics in biophysics with presentations by leading experts in their field.  Symposia are held Sunday  through Wednesday.

Sunday, February 18, 2018

8:15 AM - 10:15 AM

Biophysical Mechanisms of Molecular Evolution

Claus Wilke, University of Texas, Austin, Co-Chair
Michael J. Harms, University of Oregon, Co-Chair
Tanja Kortemme, University of California, San Francisco
Andreas Plückthun, University of Zürich, Switzerland

DNA Supercoiling

Sarah Harris, University of Leeds, United Kingdom, Co-Chair
Laura Finzi, Emory University, Co-Chair
Nick Gilbert, University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom
David Levens, NIH

10:45 AM - 12:45 PM

Translational Biophysics

Melanie Cocco, University of California, Irvine, Co-Chair
Donald Ingber, Harvard University
Shyni Varghese, Duke University
Shankar Subramaniam, University of California, San Diego, Co-Chair

Protein and RNA Phase Separation

Simon Alberti, Max Planck Institute, Germany, Co-Chair
Tanja Mittag, St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital, Co-Chair
Clifford Brangwynne, Princeton University
Michael Rosen, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Membrane Bending: Mechanisms and Consequences

Jeanne Stachowiak, University of Texas, Austin, Co-Chair
Anne Ulrich, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany, Co-Chair
Andrew Callan-Jones, Université Paris-Diderot, France
Aurélien Roux, University of Geneva

Channel Mechanisms: Sensing and Gating

Teresa Giraldez, University of La Laguna, Spain, Co-Chair
Robert Stroud, University of California, San Francisco, Co-Chair
Paul Slesinger, Mount Sinai School of Medicine
Jacqueline Gulbis, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute, Australia

Monday, February 19, 2018

8:15 AM - 10:15 AM

Fibril Assembly and Structure: Progress and Challenges
Robert Griffin, MIT, Co-Chair
Joan Emma Shea, University of California, Santa Barbara, Co-Chair
Dieter Willbold, Universität Düsseldorf, Germany
Robert Tycko, NIH

Biophysics of Lipid-modified GTPases

Roland Winter, Technical University of Dortmund, Germany, Co-Chair
Jacqueline Cherfils, CNRS, France
John Hancock, University of Texas, Houston
Sharon Campbell, University of North Carolina, Co-Chair

10:45 AM - 12:45 PM

Synaptic Vesicle Fusion and Retrieval

Axel Brunger, Stanford University, Co-Chair
Diasynou Fioravante, University of California, Davis, Co-Chair
Thomas Blanpied, University of Maryland
Ling-Gang Wu, NIH

Cardiac Contractility

Livia Hool, University of Western Australia, Co-Chair
Brian Sykes, University of Alberta, Canada, Co-Chair
David Thomas, University of Minnesota
Yael Yaniv, Technion Israel Institute of Technology

Future of Biophysics

Schuyler Van Engelenburg, University of Denver
Giulia Palermo, University of California, San Diego
Anastasia Zhuravleva, University of Leeds, United Kingdom
Meytal Landau, The Technion-Israel Institute of Technology

4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Energy Transduction

Susan Buchanan, NIH, Co-Chair
Krzysztof Palczewski, Case Western University, Co-Chair
Junko Yano, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Carola Hunte, University of Freiburg, Germany

Protein Structure and Dynamics in the Lipid Bilayer Membrane

Song-I Han, University of California, Santa Barbara, Co-Chair
Wonpil Im, Lehigh University
Nathaniel Traaseth, New York University
Timothy Cross, Florida State University, Co-Chair

Tuesday, February 20, 2018

8:15 AM - 10:15 AM

RNA Structure and Function

Karla M. Neugebauer, Yale University, Co-Chair
Kiyoshi Nagai, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
Maria Costa, Institut de Biologie Intégrative de la Cellule, France
Teresa Carlomagno, Leibniz University of Hanover, Germany, Co-Chair

Interrogating Membrane Organization and Dynamics

Mary Kraft, University of Illinois, Co-Chair
Siewert-Jan Marrink, University of Groningen, Netherlands, Co-Chair
Atul N. Parikh, University of California, Davis
Jennifer Lippincott-Schwartz, HHMI

10:45 AM - 12:45 PM

Awards Symposium

4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Modeling and Probing the Cytoskeleton

Alexander Mogilner, New York University
Anders Carlsson, Washington University, St. Louis, Co-Chair
Marileen Dogterom, Delft University of Technology, Netherlands
Iva Tolić, Ruđer Bošković Institute, Zagreb, Croatia, Co-Chair

Protein Dynamics, Folding, and Allostery I: How Do Proteins Fold and Misfold?

Galia Debelouchina, University of California, San Diego, Co-Chair
Michele Vendruscolo, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom, Co-Chair
Debora Marks, Harvard University
José Onuchic, Rice University

Wednesday, February 21, 2018

8:15 AM - 10:15 PM

Transmembrane Signals and Signaling Mechanisms

Lynmarie Thompson, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, Co-Chair
Alexandra Newton, University of California, San Diego
William Cramer, Purdue University, Co-Chair
Vadim Cherezov, University of Southern California

Protein Dynamics, Folding, and Allostery II: Dynamics and Function

Christina Redfield, University of Oxford, United Kingdom, Co-Chair
Judith Frydman, Stanford University
Tatyana Polenova, University of Delaware
Walter Chazin, Vanderbilt University, Co-Chair

1:00 PM - 3:00 PM

Biophysical Insights from Surface Engineering

Deborah Leckband, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Co-Chair
Kathleen Stebe, University of Pennsylvania, Co-Chair
Junsang Doh, Pohang University of Science and Technology, South Korea
Joseph Zasadzinski, University of Minnesota

Cytoskeletal Motors

Steven Block, Stanford University
William O. Hancock, Pennsylvania State University, Co-Chair
Anne Houdusse, Institut Curie, France
Erika Holzbaur, University of Pennsylvania, Co-Chair