Tuesday, February 14

10:45 AM - 12:45 PM

The Annual Awards Symposium is a highlight of the Annual Meeting.  During this session, awardees being honored for their scientific achievements each gives a short talk about the work for which they are being recognized.  The awards recognize excellence in diverse research areas, allowing attendees to hear about important biophysical work being done outside of their own specific area of research. 

Julie S. Biteen 
 Ahmet Yildiz
 Donald E. Ingber
Shin'ichi Ishiwata  

James U. Bowie
Sarah L. Keller
Eva-Marie Collins


Suzanne Scarlata, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, Chair


Julie S. Biteen, University of Michigan
Margaret Oakley Dayoff Award
Understanding Molecular-Scale Biophysics in Cells with Single-Molecule Imaging

Ahmet Yildiz, University of California, Berkeley 
Michael and Kate Bárány Award
The Mechanism of Dynein Motility

Donald E. Ingber, Harvard University
Founders Award
From Mechanobiology to Human Organs on Chips

Shin'ichi Ishiwata, Waseda University
Kazuhiko Kinosita Award in Single Molecule Biophysics
Fifty Years of Doing Research with Kazuhiko Kinosita, Jr.

James U. Bowie, University of California, Los Angeles
Anatrace Membrane Protein Award
Folding Complex Membrane Proteins

Sarah L. Keller, University of Washington
Avanti Award in Lipids
The 2nd Periodic Invaginated Vesicle Award

Eva-Marie S. Collins, University of California, San Diego
Biophysical Journal Paper of the Year Award
Dynamics of Mouth Opening in Hydra