Six Society Members Named 2013 Awardees

The Biophysical Society is proud to announce the recipients of five of the seven 2013 Society awards. These members will be honored at the Awards Symposium on Tuesday, February 5, 2013, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, where they will each give a presentation.


Carol Robinson, University of Oxford, United Kingdom, will receive the Anatrace Membrane Protein Award
for pioneering the development of advanced mass spectrometry techniques for the study of integral membrane
protein structure, assembly, and dynamics.



Joseph Zasadzinski, University of Minnesota, will be presented with the Avanti Award in Lipids for his careful,
quantitative application of physical principles of self-assembly, directed assembly and bio-mimicry to create
well-controlled lipid structures for biomedical applications.



Peter von Hippel, University of Oregon, will be honored with the Founders Award for establishing the principles
which underlie the quantitative study of all protein-nucleic acid interactions.




Patricia Clark, University of Nortre Dame, will be awarded the Michael and Kate Bárány Award for Young Investigators
for her significant contributions to the biophysics of protein folding in the cell, which have provided new directions of
research for both experimentalists and theoreticians.



Two Society members will share the 2013 Margaret Oakley Dayhoff Award.


Katherine Henzler-Wildman, Washington University, St. Louis, will receive the Award for her creative and unique
studies that have influenced our understanding of the physical underlying principles of membrane transporters.




Jennifer Ross, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, will also receive the Award for her innovative and productive
research in the field of molecular motors by using model systems to define how motors are regulated in the complex
environment of the cell.



 The Distinguished Service and Emily Gray awardees will be announced in the November newsletter.


October 2012 Table of Contents