2013 Annual Meeting Symposia

From Molecules to Tissues: How Forces Are Transduced in Biology

Justin Molloy, National Institute for Medical Research, United Kingdom, Chair
Edward Egelman, University of Virginia
Gijsje Koenderink, FOM Institute AMOLF, The Netherlands
Cécile Sykes, Curie Institute, France

Mechanics in the Nucleus

Nynke Dekker, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands, Chair
Clifford Brangwynne, Princeton University
Sophie Dumont, University of California, San Francisco
Zev Bryant, Stanford University

Flagella and Motility

Howard Berg, Harvard University, Chair
Sonja-Verena Albers, Max Planck Institute for Terrestrial Microbiology, Germany
Keiichi Namba, Osaka University, Japan
Natalie Strynadka, University of British Columbia, Canada

Proton Channels

Thomas DeCoursey, Rush University, Chair
Roderick MacKinnon, Rockefeller University
Susan Smith, Emory University
Melania Capasso, Queen Mary University of London, United Kingdom

Membrane Protein Folding

Paula Booth, University of Bristol, United Kingdom, Chair
Sheena Radford, University of Leeds, United Kingdom
Jörg Kleinschmidt, University of Kassel, Germany
Jean-Luc Popot, Institute of Physical-Chemical Biology, France

Lipid and Lipid Bilayer Regulation of Ion Channel Function

Olaf Andersen, Weill Cornell Medical College,Chair
Armagan Kocer, University of Groningen, The Netherlands
Irena Levitan, University of Illinois at Chicago
Sergei Sukharev, University of Maryland

The Synapse

Josep Rizo, University of Texas, Southwestern Medical Center, Chair
Axel Brunger, Stanford University
Lily Jan, University of California, San Francisco
Alexandros Pertsinidis, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

Viral Entry, Budding, and Replication at Membranes

Karla Kirkegaard, Stanford University, Chair
Wesley Sundquist, University of Utah
Barbie Ganser-Pornillos, University of Virginia
Félix Rey, Pasteur Institute, France

Chromosome Packaging, Processing, and Dynamics

Wilma K. Olson, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, Chair
Daniela Rhodes, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
John van Noort, Leiden University, The Netherlands
Additional speaker to be announced

Regulation of Protein Synthesis

Rachel Green, Johns Hopkins University, Chair
Roland Beckmann, Munich Center for Integrated Protein Science, Germany
Måns Ehrenberg, Uppsala University, Sweden
Ruben Gonzalez, Columbia University

Counting Atoms in Big Machines

Carol Robinson, University of Oxford, United Kingdom, Chair
James R. Williamson, The Scripps Research Institute
Julie Leary, University of California, Davis
Additional speaker to be announced

Frontiers in Electron Miscroscopy

Grant Jensen, California Institute of Technology, Chair
Thomas Walz, Harvard Medical School
Naoko Mizuno, Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Germany
Wolfgang Baumeister, Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Germany\

Evolution & Computation to Design New Protein Functions

William DeGrado, University of California, San Francisco, Chair
Donald Hilvert, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich, Switzerland
William Schief, The Scripps Research Institute
Additional speaker to be announced


Bertrand Garcia-Moreno, Johns Hopkins University, Chair
Steven Boxer, Stanford University
Susan Marqusee, University of California, Berkeley
Rohit Pappu, Washington University, St. Louis

Biological Circuit Design

Ron Weiss, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Chair
Sarah Teichmann, Medical Research Council, Cambridge, United Kingdom
Drew Endy, Stanford University
Georg Seelig, University of Washington

Light-driven Reactions and Physiology

Janos Lanyi, University of California,Irvine, Chair
Peter Maroti, University of Szeged, Hungary
Anna Moroni, University of Milan, Italy
Ólöf Einarsdóttir, University of California, Santa Cruz

Genomics and Biophysics

Jonathan Weissman, University of California, San Francisco, Chair
Paul Hagerman, University of California, Davis
Stirling Churchman, Harvard University
Sotaro Uemura, RIKEN Yokohama Institute, Japan

Multiscale Methods in Structural Biology

Michael Levitt, Stanford University, Chair
Dorothee Kern, Brandeis University, HHMI
Michael Nilges, Pasteur Institute, France
Gregory Voth, University of Chicago

Imaging from Molecules to Organisms

Jan Liphardt, University of California, Berkeley
Paul Selvin, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Adam de la Zerda, University of California, Berkeley
Additional speaker to be announced

Interface between Tissues and Machines

Speakers to be announced

Visit www.biophysics.org/2013meeting for more information.

June 2012 Table of Contents