Public Affairs

Committee Members

Ed Egelman, Chair (2015)
Jenna Campbell (2016)
Timothy A. Cross (2015)
Yale E. Goldman (2015)
Kathleen Hall (2015)
Eric Jakobsson (2015)
Vasanthi Jayaraman (2016)
Jennifer Johnston (2017)
Shekhar Patel (2017)

Suhrud Rajguru (2017)
Suzanne Scarlata (2017)
Tara Schwetz (2015)
Taner Z. Sen (2017)
Harel Weinstein (2015)
Ragothaman Yennamalli (2016)
Tianqi Zhang (2017)
Dorothy Beckett, ex officio
Lukas Tamm, ex officio

The Public Affairs Committee's responsibilities include (1) ensuring appropriate support for biophysics and basic research at the federal funding agencies; (2) supporting biophysics through congressional and public outreach and education; (3) developing special initiatives and responses, as appropriate, to matters of public policy that impact on biophysics and biophysicists at all education and career levels; and (4) advising the Society president and council on matters of public affairs.  Recently, the committee has provided input on strategic plans at NSF and NIH, budget and appropriations decisions on Capitol Hill, the NIH Reauthorization Act of 2006, the NIH Roadmap, open access regulations and bills, as well as other areas of interest to the Society. In addition, the Committee takes the lead on the Bridging the Sciences Coalition, an initiative to include federal funds for research at the interface of the physical, mathematical, computational, and life sciences. The committee also plans policy events for the Annual Meeting and sponsors scientists to participate in Hill Days in Washington, DC.

Policy & Advocacy
Bridging the Sciences Coalition
Inside Science TV
Newsletter Articles