Symposia cover broad topics in biophysics with presentations by leading experts in their field.  Symposia are held Sunday through Wednesday.
Represents several symposia in
honor of the International Year of Light

Sunday, February 8
8:15 AM - 10:15 AM

Regulated Protein Bridges Connecting Membranes: STIM Proteins in Cellular Signaling
Richard Lewis, Stanford University, Chair
Barbara Niemeyer, Saarland University, Germany
Murali Prakriya, Northwestern University
Patrick Hogan, La Jolla Institute for Allergy and Immunology 


Alex Dunn, Stanford University
Marcos Sotomayor, Ohio State University, Chair
Anja Geitmann, University of Montreal, Canada

10:45 AM - 12:45 PM

New and Notable 
Enrique De La Cruz, Yale University, Co-Chair
Karen Fleming, Johns Hopkins University, Co-Chair
Liskin Swint-Kruse, The University of Kansas Medical Center
Janine Brunner, University of Zurich, Switzerland
Aleksandr Noy, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Katharina Duerr, Oregon Health and Science University
Gaya Amarasinghe, Washington University in St. Louis
Frank DiMaio, University of Washington
Michelle Wang, Cornell University

Systems Biology Approaches in Neuroscience
Kristin Branson, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Chair
Eve Marder, Brandeis University
Jeff Lichtman, Harvard University
Sebastian Seung, Princeton University

4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Emergent Properties and Collective Behaviors of Complex Systems
Aaron Dinner, University of Chicago, Chair
Angela DePace, Harvard University 
Satoshi Sawai, University of Tokyo, Japan
Daniel Beard, University of Michigan

Protein Evolution and Allosteric Networks

Corey Wilson, Yale University, Chair
Elizabeth Komives, University of California, San Diego 
Janet Thornton, European Bioinformatics Institute, United Kingdom
Joe Thornton, University of Chicago 

Cardiomyopathies and Contractile Proteins

Leslie Leinwand, University of Colorado, Chair
Wolfgang Linke, Ruhr University Bochum, Germany
Lucie Carrier, University of Hamburg, Germany
Jil Tardiff, University of Arizona 

Monday, February 9
8:15 AM - 10:15 AM

Future of Biophysics 
Enrique De La Cruz, Co-Chair, Yale University
Karen Fleming, Co-Chair, Johns Hopkins University
Rommie Amaro, University of California, San Diego
Heather Pinkett, Northwestern University
Sivaraj Sivaramakrishnan, University of Michigan
Alexander Sobolevsky, Columbia University

Probing Ion Channel Structure/Function Using Novel Tools
Doug Tobias, University of California, Irvine 
Christopher Ahern, University of Iowa
Heike Wulff, University of California, Davis
Henry Colecraft, Columbia University, Chair

10:45 AM - 12:45 PM


Aleksandra Walczak, École Normale Supérieure, France
Joan-Ramon Daban, Autonomous University of Barcelona, Spain
Michael Fried, University of Kentucky
Lene Oddershede, University of Copenhagen, Denmark, Chair

Mechanisms of Actin Filament Nucleation and Mechanotransduction
Guillaume Romet-Lemonne, CNRS, France
Brad Nolen, University of Oregon
Margot Quinlan, University of California, Los Angeles 
Roberto Dominguez, University of Pennsylvania, Chair

Molecular Basis for Mitochondrial Signaling
Fabiana Perocchi, University of Munich, Germany
Rosario Rizzuto, University of Padova, Italy
Gyorgy Hajnoczky, Thomas Jefferson University 
Tatiana Rostovtseva, NIH, Chair

4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Bacterial Subcellular Dynamics at Super-Resolution: 
This Brings Super-Resolution to a Dynamic Sense 

Julie Biteen, University of Michigan, Chair
Jie Xiao, Johns Hopkins University
Simon Foster, Sheffield University, United Kingdom

Neurotransmitter Transporters

Olga Boudker, Weill Cornell Medical College, Chair
Christof Grewer, SUNY Binghamton 
Harald Sitte, Medical University of Vienna, Austria
Michael Kavanaugh, University of Montana

Tuesday, February 10
8:15 AM - 10:15 AM
Biophysics of RNA Processing: Degradation, Splicing, DEAD Box Proteins

Anna Mallam, University of Texas at Austin
Sanjay Tyagi, Rutgers University
Dagmar Klostermeier, University of Münster, Germany
Sun Hur, Harvard University, Chair

Molecules of Memory: Glutamate Receptor Channels
Mark Mayer, NIH, Chair
Robert Oswald, Cornell University 
Gabriela Popescu, University of Buffalo 
Pierre Paoletti, CNRS, IBENS, France

10:45 AM - 12:45 PM

Awards Symposium
Dorothy Beckett, University of Maryland, Chair
Gerald Feigenson, Cornell University
Antonina Roll-Mecak, NIH
Harold Scheraga, Cornell University
Sarah Teichmann, EMBL-EBI, United Kingdom
Anthony Watts, University of Oxford, United Kingdom
Hervé Turlier, EMBL, Germany

4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Nanoclustering of Membranes and Membrane Proteins
Martin Lohse, University of Würzburg, Germany
Adam Frost, University of Utah
Siewert-Jan Marrink, University of Groningen, The Netherlands
Ka Yee Lee, University of Chicago, Chair

Extremophiles: Testing the Physical Limits of Living Systems

Georges Feller, University of Liége, Belgium
Lorna Dougan, University of Leeds, United Kingdom
Catherine Royer, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Chair
Douglas Bartlett, University of California, San Diego

Wednesday, February 11
8:15 AM - 10:15 AM

Membrane Trafficking 
Kerney Jebrell Glover, Lehigh University, Chair
Lois Weisman, University of Michigan
Jenny Hinshaw, NIH
Alexander Kros, Leiden University, The Netherlands

Nanopores: Methods and Mechanistic Insights
Hagan Bayley, Oxford University, United Kingdom
Aleksandra Radenovic, Ecole Plytech Federal Lausanne, Switzerland
Michael Mayer, University of Michigan
Zuzanna Siwy, University of California, Irvine, Chair

1:00 PM - 3:00 PM

Advances in Electron Microscopy           
Bettina Böttcher, University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Hongwei Wang, Tsinghua University, China
Irina Serysheva, University of Texas Medical Center 
Yifan Cheng, University of California, San Francisco, Chair

Catalysis in the Membrane
Elizabeth Carpenter, Oxford University, United Kingdom
Edith Hummler, Lausanne University, Switzerland
Ya Ha, Yale University
Jochen Zimmer, University of Virginia , Chair