Symposia cover broad topics in biophysics with presentations by leading experts in their field.  All symposia speakers are invited to speak by the Program Committee.  Symposia are held Sunday - Wednesday.

Sunday, February 16, 2020

8:15 AM - 10:15 AM

Asymmetric Membranes

Georg Pabst, University of Graz, Austria, Chair
Karin Reinisch, Yale University
Alessio Accardi, Weill Cornell Medical College
Erwin London, Stony Brook University

Single-Molecule Visualization of Transcription, Translation, and Splicing

Magnus Johansson, Uppsala University, Sweden, Chair
Daniel R. Larson, National Cancer Institute
Timothy Stasevich, Colorado State University
Jingyi Fei, University of Chicago

10:45 AM - 12:45 PM

Mapping the Immune System

Brian Baker, University of Notre Dame, Chair
Krishnendu Roy, Georgia Institute of Technology
John Barton, University of California, Riverside
Stacey Finley, University of Southern California

Cytoskeleton and Motility

Joseph Falke, University of Colorado Boulder, Chair
Barbara Baird, Cornell University
Mira Krendel, SUNY Upstate Medical University
Margaret Gardel, University of Chicag

Mitochondrial Calcium Fluxes

Gyorgy Csordas, Thomas Jefferson University, Chair
Elizabeth Jonas, Yale University
Paolo Bernardi, University of Padua, Italy
Elizabeth Murphy, NHBLI, NIH

4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Anion Channels

Criss Hartzell, Emory University, Chair
Merritt Maduke, Stanford University
Michael Pusch, University of Genoa, Italy
Laszlo Csanady, Semmelweis University, Hungary

"Fuzzy" Interactions and Crowding

Catherine Musselman, The University of Iowa, Chair
Francesco Cardarelli, Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia, Italy
Margaret Cheung, University of Houston
Clifford Brangwynne, Princeton University

Monday, February 17, 2020

8:15 AM - 10:15 AM

Molecular Motors

Bik-Kwoon Tye, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Chair
Maria Spies, The University of Iowa
Peter Qin, University of Southern California
Ryota Iino, Institute for Molecular Science, Japan

Pharmaceutical Biophysics

Jeanne Hardy, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, Chair
Greg Bowman, Washington University in St. Louis
Alex Bunker, University of Helsinki, Finland
Dorothee Kern, Brandeis University

10:45 AM - 12:45 PM

Sensational Membrane Proteins

Emily Liman, University of Southern California, Chair
Kate Poole, University of New South Wales, Australia
Jorg Grandl, Duke University
Vanessa Ruta, The Rockefeller University

Biophysical Underpinnings of the Origin of Life

Ken A. Dill, Stony Brook University, Chair
Ulrich Muller, University of California, San Diego
Daniel Bolon, University of Massachusetts Medical School
Betul Kacar, University of Arizona

Futures of Biophysics

Nozomi Ando, Cornell University
Margaret E. Johnson, Johns Hopkins University
James B. Munro, University of Massachusetts Medical School
Elton Zeqiraj, University of Leeds

4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Kinetic Stability: Controlling Longevity at the Molecular Level

Jonathan King, MIT, Chair
Elizabeth Meiering, University of Waterloo, Canada
Margaret Sunde, The University of Sydney, Australia
Wilfredo Colon, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Translational Control

Christine Dunham, Emory University, Chair
Shinobu Chiba, Kyoto Sangyo University, Japan
Paul Whitford, Northeastern University
Onn Brandman, Stanford University

Tuesday, February 18, 2022

8:15 AM - 10:15 AM

ATP-driven Maintenance of Protein Homeostasis

Aaron Lucius,University of Alabama at Birmingham, Chair 
Hideki Taguchi, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
Marina Rodnina, Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Germany
Matthew Shoulders, MIT

Synthetic Biology

Yvonne Chen, University of California, Los Angeles, Chair
Peng Yin, Harvard Medical School
Jeff Nivala, University of Washington
John Christodoulou, University College London, United Kingdom

10:45 AM - 12:45 PM

Award Symposium

Carlos Baiz, University of Texas in Austin
Elliot L. Elson, Washington University in St. Louis
Dan M. Herschlag, Stanford University
Valeria Vásquez, University of Tennessee Health Science Center
Clifford P. Brangwynne, Princeton University
Akihiro Kusumi, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology, Japan
Alexandra C. Newton, University of California, San Diego
Yale E. Goldman, University of Pennsylvania
G. Marius Clore, NIDDK, NIH
Gunnar von Heijne, Stockholm University, Sweden

4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Neuron-glia Interactions

Kira Poskanzer, University of California, San Francisco, Chair
Gary Yellen, Harvard Medical School
Bruno Weber, University of Zurich, Switzerland
Arlette Kolta, University of Montreal, Canada

Exocytosis & Autophagy

Arun Anantharam, University of Michigan, Chair
Lauren Jackson, Vanderbilt University
Mary Munson, University of Massachusetts Medical School
Noa Lipstein-Thoms, Max Planck Institute for Experimental Medicine, Germany

Wednesday, February 19, 2020

8:15 AM - 10:15 AM

Membrane Proteins in Infectious Disease

Francesca Marassi, Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute, Chair
Robert Stahelin, Purdue University
Priscilla Yang, Harvard University
Walther Mothes, Yale School of Medicine

Shapeshifting: Proteins with More Than One Structure

Sarah Bondos, Texas A&M University, Chair
Lauren Porter, NLM, NIH
Brian Volkman, Medical College of Wisconsin
Shachi Gosavi, National Centre for Biological Sciences, India

1:00 PM - 3:00 PM

New and Notable

Gheorghe Chistol, Stanford University
Dorit Hanein, Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute
Peter Kasson, University of Virginia
Alexey S. Ladokhin, University of Kansas Medical Center

Personalized Medicine: Protein Sequence Variation on Human Health

Anna Panchenko, Queen's University, Canada, Chair
Douglas Fowler, University of Washington
William Balch, The Scripps Research Institute
Harmit Malik, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center