Symposia cover broad topics in biophysics with presentations by leading experts in their field.  All symposia speakers are invited to speak by the Program Committee.  Symposia are held Sunday - Wednesday.


Mapping the Immune System

TBD, Chair
Krishnendu Roy, Georgia Institute of Technology
Arup K. Chakraborty, MIT
Stacey Finley, University of Southern California

Shapeshifting: Proteins with More Than One Structure

Sarah Bondos, Texas A&M University, Chair
Lauren Porter, HHMI, Janelia Research Campus
Brian Volkman, Medical College of Wisconsin
Shachi Gosavi, National Centre for Biological Sciences, India

ATP-driven Maintenance of Protein Homeostasis

Aaron Lucius, University of Alabama, Chair
Hideki Taguchi, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
Marina Rodnina, Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Germany
Matthew Shoulders, MIT

Personalized Medicine: Protein Sequence Variation on Human Health

Christian Landry, Laval University, Canada Chair
Douglas Fowler, University of Washington
Anna Panchenko, NCBI, NIH
Harmit Malik, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

Sensational Membrane Proteins

Emily Liman, University of Southern California, Chair
Kate Poole, University of New South Wales, Australia
Bailong Xiao, Tsinghua University, China
Vanessa Ruta, The Rockefeller University

Anion Channels

Criss Hartzell, Emory University, Chair
Merritt Maduke, Stanford University
Michael Pusch, University of Genoa, Italy
Laszlo Csanady, Semmelweis University, Hungary

Membrane Proteins in Infectious Disease

Peter Kasson, University of Virginia, Chair
Robert Stahelin, Purdue University
Priscilla Yang, Harvard University
Walther Mothes, Yale School of Medicine

Biophysical Underpinnings of the Origin of Life

Ken A. Dill, Stony Brook University, Chair
Irene Chen, University of California, Santa Barbara
Daniel Bolon, University of Massachusetts Medical School
Betul Kacar, University of Arizona

Asymmetric Membranes

Georg Pabst, University of Graz, Austria, Chair
Karin Reinisch, Yale University
Alessio Accardi, Weill Cornell Medical College
Sylvie Roke, EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland

Exocytosis & Autophagy

Arun Anantharam, University of Michigan, Chair
Lauren Jackson, Vanderbilt University
Mary Munson, University of Massachusetts Medical School
Noa Lipstein-Thoms, Max Planck Institute for Experimental Medicine, Germany

Cytoskeleton and Motility

Joseph Falke, University of Colorado Boulder, Chair
Barbara Baird, Cornell University
Mira Krendel, SUNY Upstate Medical University
Margaret Gardel, University of Chicago

Molecular Motors

Bik-Kwoon Tye, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Chair
Maria Spies, The University of Iowa
Anna Marie Pyle, Yale University
Ryota Iino, Institute for Molecular Science, Japan

Translational Control

Christine Dunham, Emory University, Chair
Shinobu Chiba, Kyoto Sangyo University, Japan
Paul Whitford, Northeastern University
Onn Brandman, Stanford University

Single Molecule Visualization of Transcription, Translation and Splicing

Magnus Johansson, Uppsala University, Sweden, Chair
Daniel R. Larson, National Cancer Institute
Timothy Stasevich, Colorado State University
Jingyi Fei, University of Chicago

Mitochondrial Calcium Fluxes

Gyorgy Csordas, Thomas Jefferson University, Chair
Elizabeth Jonas, Yale University
Paolo Bernardi, University of Padua, Italy
Elizabeth Murphy, NHBLI, NIH

Synthetic Biology

Yvonne Chen, University of California, Los Angeles, Chair
Peng Yin, Harvard Medical School
Jeff Nivala, University of Washington

Neuron-glia Interactions

Kira Poskanzer, University of California, San Francisco, Chair
Gary Yellen, Harvard Medical School
Bruno Weber, University of Zurich, Switzerland
Arlette Kolta, University of Montreal, Canada

Kinetic Stability: Controlling Longevity at the Molecular Level

Jonathan King, MIT, Chair
Elizabeth Meiering, University of Waterloo, Canada
Margaret Sunde, The University of Sydney, Australia
Wilfredo Colon, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

"Fuzzy" Interactions and Crowding

Margaret Cheung, University of Houston, Chair
Francesco Cardarelli, Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia, Italy
Catherine Musselman, The University of Iowa
Clifford Brangwynne, Princeton University

Pharmaceutical Biophysics

Jeanne Hardy, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, Chair
Greg Bowman, Washington University in St. Louis
Alex Bunker, University of Helsinki, Finland
Dorothee Kern, Brandeis University