The Biophysical Society's Subgroups hold symposia that allow attendees to meet and interact within focused areas. This year’s subgroup symposia will be held on the first day of the Annual Meeting, Saturday, March 2, 2019. The Saturday Subgroup programs are heavily attended and include exciting scientific symposia, awards presentations, student and postdoc talks, and business meetings, which are open to members of each subgroup. 

To view a subgroup's 2019 symposium program, click on the subgroup's name. 
Subgroup programming details will be posted as they become available. 

For those attending subgroup symposia, registration will be open on Friday and Saturday for badge pick-up prior to the subgroup sessions. Registration for the Annual Meeting is required to attend the subgroup symposia.


For more information on subgroups and how to join, click here

Membrane Fusion, Fission, and Traffic

Subgroup Chair: Michelle Knowles, University of Denver, USA

Symposium Time:  1:30-5:30 PM EST

Symposium Room:  204C

Business Meeting:  3:20 - 3:35 PM EST


1:35 PM Alexa Mattheyses, University of Alabama, Birmingham, USA
Live Nanoscale Axial Imaging Reveals Flexible Vesicle Formation Dynamics in Clathrin Mediated Endocytosis


2:05 PM John Jimah, Princeton University, USA
CryoEM Structures of Membrane Bound Dynamin Primed for Membrane Fission


2:35 PM Ben Glick, University of Chicago, USA
Rethinking the Secretory Pathway


3:35 PM Nikhil Gandasi, Indian Institute of Science, India
Secretion of Multivesicular Bodies Maintains the Pancreatic Islet Environment in Pancreatic β-cells – Does Dysregulation Lead to Type 2-Diabetes?


4:05 PM Mary Munson, University of Massachusetts Chan Medical School, USA
Control of Exocytosis by the Exocyst Complex


4:35 PM Katz Award Lecture: Jenny Hinshaw, National Institutes of Health (NIDDK), USA
Decades of Dynamins

Previous Article Mechanobiology
Next Article Membrane Structure and Function