Society Award Winners

Tuesday, March 5
10:45 AM - 12:45 PM

The Annual Awards Symposium is a highlight of the Annual Meeting.  During this session, awardees being honored for their scientific achievements each gives a short talk about the work for which they are being recognized.  The awards recognize excellence in diverse research areas, allowing attendees to hear about important biophysical work being done outside of their own specific area of research.

Angela Gronenborn, University of Pittsburgh and BPS President

Bin Xu , University of Notre Dame
Biophysical Journal Paper of the Year Award
Modeling the Dynamics of Cdc42 Oscillation in Fission Yeast

Raymond Stevens, University of Southern California
Anatrace Membrane Protein Award
Technology Development Towards the Understanding of G-Protein Coupled Receptor Structure Function

Elizabeth Rhoades, University of Pennsylvania
Michael and Kate Barany Award
Finding Order in Disorder: Functional Studies of Dysfunctional Proteins

Jeff Gelles, Brandeis University
Kazuhiko Kinosita Award in Single Molecule Biophysics
Many Single Molecules

Meytal Landau, Israel Institute of Technology
Margaret Oakley Dayhoff Award 
Functional Protein Fibrils as Antibacterial Agents and Targets

nrico Gratton, University of California, Irvine
Avanti Award in Lipids
LAURDIAN GP for the Quantitation of Lipid Phases

Songi Han, University of California, Santa Barbara
Innovation Award
Surface Programming of Protein Hydration Water Dynamics Revealed by Overhauser Dynamic Nuclear Polarization

Harry Noller, University of California, Santa Cruz
Ignacio Tinoco Award
Exploring the Ribosome with Friends: Mysteries of the Mother Ship

Juli Feigon, University of California, Los Angeles
Founders Award
A (scientific) Lifetime Affair with Nucleic Acids