IDP Subgroup Bylaws

These bylaws were approved by unanimous vote at the IDP Subgroup Business Meeting in March 2007.

Article 1
Purpose: The purpose of the IDP Subgroup shall be to advance and disseminate knowledge regarding the structural and physical properties, mechanisms of interaction, and biological functions of intrinsically disordered or unstructured proteins, which are also known as natively unfolded, naturally disordered, and rheomorphic proteins, amongst other names.

Article 2
Membership: Members of the Biophysical Society can join the IDP Subgroup; non-members of the Biophysical Society are welcome to participate in IDP Subgroup activities.

Article 3
Dissolution: This group may be dissolved at the discretion of the Council of the Biophysical Society.

Article 4
Meetings: Business meetings shall be held in connection with the annual scientific meeting of the Biophysical Society. Five percent of the members of the IDP Subgroup or 10 members, whichever is smaller, shall constitute a quorum.

Scientific meetings shall be held at the discretion of the Council. These meetings will be held in association with the annual Biophysical Society meetings.

Article 5
Dues: In addition to those requested by the Biophysical Society, dues of $20/year will be levied by the Subgroup Council.

Article 6
Officers: The officers of the group will be a group Chairman, Chairman-elect, Secretary-Treasurer, and two Program-Co-chairs, one Postdoctoral Fellow Representative and one Graduate Student Representative. The Chairman-elect shall serve one year as such followed by one year as Chairman. The Secretary-Treasurer shall be elected for a term of two years and the Program Co-Chairs shall be elected for a period of 1 year. The Postdoctoral Fellow and Graduate Student Representative will serve one year with an option to run for a second one year term.

Article 7
Council: The Council will be responsible for the fulfillment of the scientific and business obligations of the group. The Officers, the immediate past Chairman and 3 members elected at large shall constitute this Council. The at-large council members will serve staggered 3-year terms, with one new member elected each year. The Council shall have power to conduct other business by means of mail vote. The affairs of the Group shall be handled by the officers in accordance with the policies determined by the Council.

Article 8
Nominating Committee: The members of the Council shall constitute the nominating committee. Nominations will also be received from the floor at the annual business meeting or by e-mail or letter up to two weeks prior to the annual meeting. Nominees will accept their nomination prior to being placed on a ballot.

Article 9
Elections: Elections shall be held at the annual meeting of the Biophysical Society. The candidate for each office receiving the highest number of votes will be elected. Officers will take office at the end of the annual business meeting held in conjunction with the annual meeting of the Biophysical Society. Interim vacancies in officers or councilors will be filled in accordance with By-Law Article IX of the Biophysical Society.

Article 10
Amendments to the By-Laws: Amendments should arise from the members of the IDP Subgroup, approved by a two-thirds majority of the Council, and ratified in a mail ballot by a majority of the members of the group voting.