Biological Fluorescence Bylaws

Article 1
Name: The name of this Group is the Biological Fluorescence Subgroup.

Article 2
Objective: The objective of this Group is to promote the interchange of information and to foster the advance of knowledge pertaining to the development of new capabilities in fluorescence methodologies, both theoretical and experimental, and the application of these developments to the study of biological systems.

Article 3
Membership: A Group member is any Society member who submits his name to the Secretary-Treasurer and who has paid his dues for the current calendar year.

Affiliates: An affiliate is a non-member of the Society who submits his name to the Secretary-Treasurer and who has paid his dues for the current calendar year. Affiliates will receive mailings to the Group and other services or activities as may be made available to members. Affiliates may not vote or hold office.

Article 4
Dues: Dues may be assessed to cover the necessary expenses related to operation of the Group. The amount and means of collection are described in Article 12.

Article 5
Operation: The Group will be operated by the Group Chairperson, an Advisory Committee consisting of four members, one of whom is the Chairperson, and a Secretary-Treasurer.

Duties of the Group Chairperson are to organize and conduct Group Meetings, to advise the Biophysical Society of the activities and needs of the Group, to advise the Society on matters related to biological fluorescence and to any other activities the Chairperson deems to be beneficial to the Group and the Society.

Duties of the Advisory Committee are to advise the Group Chairperson on the organization of Group meetings, and other matters of interest to the Group, and to make nominations for the Group Chairperson.
The Secretary-Treasurer will maintain adequate records of membership and finances, and carry on necessary correspondence. The Secretary-Treasurer is an Ex-Officio member of the Advisory Committee.

Article 6
Term of Office: The Group Chairperson will serve for one year, beginning immediately following the Annual Meeting and continuing through the following Annual Meeting. The Advisory Committee will consist of the current Group Chairperson, the previous two Group Chairpersons, and the next Group Chairperson. There is no fixed term of office for the Secretary-Treasurer.

Article 7
Eligibility for Office: Only members of the Biological Fluorescence Group can be candidates. Members may not be Group Chairperson more than once every six years.

Article 8
Elections: It is the intent of the Group that the Chairperson shall rotate so as to represent fairly the different specialties within the membership.

The new Chairperson shall be elected from a list of nominees composed of a nominee made by the Advisory Committee and any other person nominated by at least five members of the subgroup.

Article 9
Meetings: There shall be at least one meeting per year, the Annual Meeting, at the time designated for Group meetings by the Council of the Biophysical Society.

The Group Chairperson-Elect will be elected at a business meeting of the subgroup at the Annual Meeting and will take office immediately following the next Annual Meeting. Other business may be transacted by the Group at the Annual Meeting. A minimum of thirty days notice of the Annual Meeting such as publication in the Biophysical Society or Group Newsletters must be given.

Article 10
The members attending an Annual Meeting can transact Group business by a simple majority vote.

Article 11
Amendments to the By-Laws: These By-Laws can be amended by a majority of members responding to a mail ballot.

Proposals for new or amended By-Laws shall be submitted to the Secretary-Treasurer for consideration at the Annual Meeting. Proposed amendments to the By-Laws may be placed on a mail ballot by a majority vote at the Annual Meeting or at the discretion of the Chairperson.

Article 12
Dues: Dues are $15.00 per year.
Dues shall be collected from Group members by the Biophysical Society. Affiliates will be billed for dues directly by the Secretary-Treasurer. Changes in dues structure will be enacted by a simple majority vote of the Group Chairperson and Advisory Committee. A tie vote on dues structure may be resolved by a vote from the Secretary-Treasurer.

Article 13
Expenditures: Any monies available to the Group may be expended by the Group Chairperson for the following purposes:

For direct expenses connected with the operation of the Group.

To cover all or part of the expenses of persons invited to speak at the Annual Group Meeting. The Secretary.

Treasurer may expend monies to cover the direct expenses associated with the office.

At the first business meeting of this subgroup two Advisory Committee members, first and second will be elected to serve for two and one year(s), respectively, to assist the Group Chairperson. Due to the absence of an Advisory Committee at this time, nominations for officer’s position will be submitted from the Organizing Committee; other nominations will be according to the By-Laws.