The Biophysical Society's Subgroups hold symposia that allow attendees to meet and interact within focused areas. This year’s subgroup symposia will be held on the first day of the Annual Meeting, Saturday, March 2, 2019. The Saturday Subgroup programs are heavily attended and include exciting scientific symposia, awards presentations, student and postdoc talks, and business meetings, which are open to members of each subgroup. 

To view a subgroup's 2019 symposium program, click on the subgroup's name. 
Subgroup programming details will be posted as it becomes available. 

For those attending subgroup symposia, registration will be open on Friday and Saturday for badge pick-up prior to the subgroup sessions. Registration for the Annual Meeting is required to attend the subgroup symposia.


For more information on subgroups and how to join, click here

Bioenergetics, Mitochondria, and Metabolism

Subgroup Co-Chairs: Elizabeth Jones, Yale University and George Porter, University of Rochester


Subgroup Chair: Amir Faround, Ohio University 


Ka Yee Lee, University of Chicago
Susan Daniel, Cornell University 
Jennifer Elisseeff, John Hopkins University
Daniel Hammer, University of Pennsylvania
Mark Uline, University of South Carolina 

Biological Fluorescence

Subgroup Chair: Paul Wiseman, McGill University, Canada


Alessandra Cambi, Radboud University, The Netherlands
Luke Lavis, Janelia Research Campus
Bin Wu, Johns Hopkins University
Don Lamb, Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich, Germany
Elizabeth Hillman, Columbia University

Biopolymers in Vivo

Subgroup Chair: Simon Ebbinghaus, Technische Universitat Braunschweig, Germany


Jim Bruce, University of Washington
Luke Shapiro, Stanford University
Mark Leake, York University, United Kingdom
Shana Elbaum-Garfinkle, City University of New York
KC Huang, Stanford University 
Danny Hatters, University of Melbourne, Australia 

Cell Biophysics

Subgroup Chair:  Jie Xiao, John Hopkins University School of Medicine           


Subgroup Chair: Jenny Hinshaw, National Institutes of Health      


Alberto Barteaghi, Duke University, b-galactosidase dataset to ~1.X angstroms resolution
Tim Grant,  Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Janelia cisTEM image processing
Scott Stagg, Flordia State University, Novel helical processing methods
Alex Noble, New York Structural Biology Center,  Cryo-tomography methods and spotition
Thomas Marlovits, Center for Structural Systems Biology, Hamburg Germany, StarMap: Rossetta Refinement controled from Chimera X
Julia Mahamid, European Molecular Biology Laboratory, Cryo-focused ion beam milling and electron tomography to study messoscle assemblies

Endocytosis & Endocytosis

Subgroup Chair: Amy Lee, University of Iowa  


Iran Milosevic, European Neuroscience Institute, Germany
Nils Brose, Max Planck Instiute of Experimental Medicine, Germany
Ed Champman, University of Wisconsin

Intrinsically Disordered Proteins

Subgroup Chair: Tanja Mittag, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital


Jeam Baum, Rutgers University
Jeetain Mittal, Lehigh University
Wolfgang Peti, University of Arizona 
Gary Pielak, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Joan-Emma Shea, University of Calfornia, Santa Barbara
Jim Shorter, University of Pennsylvania
Mingjie Zhang, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology


Subgroup Chair: Kristian Franze, Cambridge University, United Kingdom          

Membrane Biophysics

Subgroup Chair: Andrew Plested, Leibnize Institute for Molecular Pharmacology, Germany          


Mala Sha, University College of London
Christoph Schmidt-Hieber, Intitut Pasteur, France
Veronica Egger, Regensburg University, Germany
Jeff Diamond, National Institutes of Health
Jimmy Zhou, Yale University 
Bruce Bean, Harvard University
Marlies Oostland, Princeton University 

Membrane Structure & Functions

Subgroup Chair: Ilya Leventhal, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston  


Jay Groves, University of California, Berkeley
Alex Sodt, National Institutes of Health
Claudia Steinem, Uni Gottingen
Jennifer Thewalt, Simon Fraser University
Akihiro Kusumi, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Graduate University 
Marcia Garcia-Parajo, The Institute of Photonic Sciences

Molecular Biophysics

Subgroup Chair: Maria Spies, University of Iowa


Terrence Strick, Paris Diderot University, France
Catherine Musselman, University of Iowa
Clare Wyman, Erasmus University Medical Center, Netherlands
Tom Perkins, University of Colorado 

Motility & Cytoskeleton

Subgroup Chair: William Hancock, Pennsylvania State University and Neil Kad, University of Kent, United Kingdom


Mike Geeves, University of Kent, United Kingdom
Ethan Garner, Harvard University
Ken'ya Furuta, National Institute of Information and Communications Technology, Japan
Jonathan Bird, University of Florida
Magdalena Bezanilla, Dartmouth College
Claudia Veigel, Ludwig Maxmimilan University of Munich, Germany
Erik Schafer, University of Tubingen, Germany

Nanoscale Biophysics

Subgroup Co-Chairs: Keir Neuman, National Institutes of Health and Ozgur Sahin, Columbia University


Suliana Manley, Ecole Polytechnique Federale De Lausanne, Switzerland
Marie-Eve Aubin-Tam, TU Delft, Netherlands
Sabrina Leslie, McGill University, Canada
Ibrahim Cisse, MIT
Peng Ying,  Harvard Medical School
Burt Hoogenboom, University of College London and London Centre of Nanotechnology
Philipp Kukura, Oxford University, United Kingdom

Permeation & Transport

Subgroup Chair: Susan Rempe, Sandia National Laboratories