As the Biophysical Society continues to grow, the Society's subgroups allow members to meet and interact within more focused areas in smaller groups. Subgroups hold scientific symposia and business meetings each year on the Saturday that starts the Annual Meeting. They also sponsor several awards, including the Student Research Achievement Awards (SRAA) Poster Competition.

Membership to the Society's subgroups is open to all members. New subgroups may be formed by petition, signed by at least 100 regular members. The petition and accompanying bylaws need to be approved by Council.


The Bioenergetics Subgroup attracts participants with a wide range of interests. The primary focus is mitochondria and chloroplasts, from biogenesis to the structure and function of individual protein components. Much of the focus is on membrane channels, carriers and redox complexes. Recently there has been much excitement regarding the role of mitochondria in apoptosis and their ability to rapidly respond to changes in cell function. In addition, the detailed crystal structure of components central to oxidative phosphorylation has generated great interest in the molecular details of energy transduction. Finally, the subgroup’s annual Young Investigator Award recognizes excellence in the field of bioenergetics by investigators at different stages of their careers.

Join the Bioenergetics Subgroup Young Bioenergetics Award


In order to join the Bioenergetics Subgroup, you must be a member of the Society.

Elizabeth Jonas, Co-Chair (2017-2020)

George Porter, Co-Chair (2017-2020)

Erin Seifert, Treasurer (2014-2017)


Miguel Aon (2017-2019)
Karen Busch (2017-2019)
Tatiana Rostovseva (2017-2019)

2012-2016 Jan Hoek
Gyorgy Hajnoczky
Thomas Jefferson University
2007-2011 Lawrence Prochaska Wright State University School of Medicine
2004-2007 Marco Columbini University of Maryland
2001-2004 Carmen Manella Wadsworth Center
1998-2001 Maureen McEnery Case Western Research University

2018 Symposium

Saturday, February 17, 2018
San Francisco, California
9:00 AM–7:00 PM

View Program

2017 Symposium

Saturday, February 11, 2017
New Orleans, Louisiana
9:00 AM–7:00 PM

View Program

2016 Symposium

Saturday, February 27, 2016
Los Angeles, California
9:00 AM–7:00 PM

View Program

2015 Symposium

Saturday, February 27, 2015
Baltimore, Maryland
9:00 AM–7:00 PM

View Program

2014 Symposium

Saturday, February 15, 2014
San Francisco, California
9:00 AM–7:00 PM

View Program

2013 Symposium

Saturday, February 2, 2013
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
9:00 AM–7:00 PM

View Program

  Winner  Institution Sponsor
2017  Melanie Paillard Thomas Jefferson University Gyorgy Hajnoczky
  Danilo Faccenda Royal Veterinary College  Michelangelo Campanella 
2016  Anil Noronha Antony Thomas Jefferson University Jan B. Hoek
  Santhanam Shanmughapriya Temple University Muniswamy Madesh
2015 Diego De Stefani University of Padova Rosario Rizzuto
2014 Fei Li Michigan State University Shelagh Ferguson-Miller
  Veronica Eisner  Thomas Jefferson University  Gyorgy Hajnoczky 
2013  Karthik Mallilankaraman   Temple University  Muniswamy Madesh 
2012 Kambiz N. Alavian Yale University School of Medicine Elizabeth Jonas
2011 Xingguo Liu Thomas Jefferson University Gyorgy Hajnoczky
2010 Pablo Marco Peixoto New York University Kathleen Kinnally
2009 Raul Miguel Covian Garcia

Dartmouth Medical School

Bernard Trumpower
  Soumya Sinha Roy Thomas Jefferson University Gyorgy Hajnoczky 

Craig Jolley

Arizona State University

Petra Fromme & Michael Thorpe 
  Ling Qin  Michigan State University  Shelagh Ferguson-Miller  
2007 Marcel Günther Friedric Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research Renate Naumann
2006 Sonia Martinez Caballero New York University College of Dentistry Kathleen Kinnally
2005 Christoph Maack Johns Hopkins University Brian O'Rourke
2004 Jacques Kessl Dartmouth Medical School Bernard Trumpower
  Matthias Riess  Medical College of Wisconsin  David Stowe 
2003 Brian Schmidt Michigan State University Shelagh Ferguson-Miller
  Leah Siskind  University of Maryland  Marco Colombini 
2002 K.V. Lakshmi Yale University Gary Brudvig
  Kunhong Xiao  Oklahoma State University  Chang-An Yu 
2001 Gisela Beutner University of Rochester Shey-Shing Sheu
2000 Elisabeth Darrauzet University of Pennsylvania Fevzi Daldal
  Emma Madrid  Dartmouth Medical School  Bernard Trumpower 
  Yuejun Zhen  Michigan State University  Shelagh Ferguson-Miller 
1999 Roger Castilho Lund University David Nichols
  Alicia Kowaltowski  Universidade Estadual de Campinas  Gary Fiskum 
  Hau Tain  Oklahoma State University  Chang-An Yu 

Article 1

Purpose: This group shall be charged with the advancement and dissemination of knowledge in Bioenergetics.

Article 2

Membership: Membership in this group is available by request from members of the Biophysical Society. The total membership of the Division must exceed 5% of the total membership of the Biophysical Society. Resignation from the group shall be submitted in writing.

Article 3

Dissolution: This group may be dissolved at the discretion of the Council of the Biophysical Society or of the officers of the Division after polling the membership group.

Article 4

Meetings: Business meetings of the membership shall be held in connection with the annual scientific meeting of the Biophysical Society. Five percent of the members of this group, or 10 members, whichever is smaller, shall constitute a quorum.

Scientific meetings shall be held at the discretion of the Council, either in association with or separate from the annual Biophysical Society meetings.

Article 5

Dues: If required, dues in addition to those requested by the Biophysical Society may be levied by the Subgroup Council subject to approval by a majority vote at an annual business meeting.

Article 6

Officers: The officers of the group will be a group Chairman, Chairman-elect and a Secretary-Treasurer. The Chairman-elect shall serve one year as such followed by one year as Chairman. The Secretary-Treasurer shall be elected for a term of two years.

Article 7

Council: There shall be a Council responsible for the fulfillment of the scientific and business obligations of the group. The Officers, the immediate past Division Chairman and 3 elected members shall constitute this Council. The elected councilors shall be chosen from the membership to serve two years with two positions being filled each year. The Council shall meet at the call of the group Chairman, at least once a year, preferably shortly before the annual business meeting. The Council shall have power to conduct other business by means of mail vote. The affairs of the group shall be handled by the officers in accordance with the policies determined by the Council.

Article 8

Nominating Committee: The nominating committee shall consist of the members of the Council of the group. Nominations will also be received from the floor at the annual business meeting. Nominees will accept their nomination prior to being placed on a ballot.

Article 9

Elections: Elections shall be held at the annual meeting of the Biophysical Society. The candidate for each office receiving the highest number of votes will be elected. Officers will take office at the end of the annual business meeting held in conjunction with the annual meeting of the Biophysical Society. Interim vacancies in officers or councilors will be filled in accordance with By-Lay Article IX of the Biophysical Society.

Article 10

Amendments to the By-Laws: Amendments should arise - from the group, approved by a two-thirds majority of the Council, and ratified in a electronic mail ballot by a majority of the members of the group voting.