As part of its ongoing efforts to support initiatives that reduce its carbon footprint, the Biophysical Society this year has donated a total of $28,000 to two environmental programs.  These donations will help mitigate carbon generated by Society activities, including member  travel to the Annual Meeting in San Francisco.  The Society Council  established a Committee to evaluate candidate environmental programs. That Committee, chaired by Past Biophysical Society President Joseph  Falke, included  Society members Mark Arsenault, Henry Lester, Ralph Nossal, Jason Otterstrom, and Francesco Vanzi.  The Committee’s recommendation, approved by the Executive Board and Council, was to  fund one global and one local environmental program.  Funds donated to the Climate Trust will support research on a promising method for large-scale sequestration of atmospheric carbon. Funds donated to the City of San Francisco Carbon Fund will support a local biodiesel fuel subsidy program. For full descriptions of these two environmental nonprofits, visit their websites at and

May 2010 Table of Contents