Public Affairs

BPS Exhibits on the Hill

On May 11, Society member Timothy Cross, National High Magnetic Field Lab and Florida State University, represented the  Biophysical Society at the Coalition for National Science Funding’s (CNSF) exhibition and reception, STEM Research and Education: Underpinning American Innovation. The purpose of the exhibition and reception, which is held each spring on Capitol Hill, is to demonstrate to Congressional members and staff the research being funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF). The Biophysical Society was one of 30 scientific organizations and institutions participating. Cross’s poster highlighted biophysics-related projects at the Magnetic Lab that are funded by NSF. 
The event attracted approximately 285 attendees, including House Appropriations Commerce, Justice, Science Subcommittee Ranking Member Chaka Fattah (D-PA), Representatives Rush Holt (D-NJ), Phil Roe (R-TN), Jerry McNerney (D-CA), and Glenn Thompson (R-PA). NSF Senior Advisor Cora Marrett also attended. 
2011 marks the 17th year CNSF has hosted a Capitol Hill exhibition and reception in support of NSF research. CNSF is an alliance of over 100 organizations, including the Biophysical Society, working together in support of the United States’ investment in NSF’s research and education programs. 

NIH Biomedical Task Force Members Named

The National Institutes of Health (NIH) named the members of the working group charged with creating a model for building a sustainable and diverse biomedical research workforce. NIH Director Francis Collins has asked for the working group to develop the model to help inform decisions about how to train the optimal number of people for the appropriate types of positions that will advance science and promote health. The working group was created at the December 2010 meeting of the Advisory Committee to the Director. Shirley Tilghman, President of Princeton University, and Sally Rockey, Deputy Director for Extramural Research, NIH, are the co-chairs of the committee. Other committee members include individuals representing biomedical research, industry, economics, and social science research. A list of working group members is available at

NIDCR Under New Leadership

NIH Director Collins announced that Martha J. Somerman will be the new Director of the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR), effective August 29, 2011. Somerman will replace Isabel Garcia, who has served as Acting Director of NIDCR since August 2010. 
Somerman has been Dean of the University of Washington School of Dentistry since 2002, also holding appointments as Professor in the School of Dentistry’s Department of Aerodonetics and Adjunct Professor in the Department of Oral Biology. Since 2004, she has also served on the medical staff of the Seattle Cancer Care Alliance and as a member of the associate medical staff of the University of Washington Medical Center and the Harborview Medical Center.
The mission of the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR) is to improve oral, dental, and craniofacial health through research, research training, and the dissemination of health information.